Skip to main content

Find & Cite Images

Reference & Information Literacy Librarian

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Notes on Image Citation

MLA provides limited information about image citation. The examples given here refer to works of visual art.

For more help please contact us.

Open Web

Reproduced Work of Art - Format

Last Name, First Name (Image creator, if available). Title of Image. Work date (if known). 

Image format (Painting, Photograph, etc.). Name of individual or institution which owns

work (if available), Institution location. Web. Date Retrieved.

Example

Rousseau, Henri. The Ship in the Storm. 1896. Painting. Musee de l'Orangerie 

Paris. Web. 3 Sept. 2009.

Library Database

Reproduced Work of Art - Format

Last Name, First Name (Image creator, if available). Title of Image. Work date (if available).

Image format (Painting, Photograph, etc.). Name of individual or institution which owns

image (if available), Institution, Location. Library Database. Web. Date retrieved.

Example

Muybridge, Eadweard. Photograph of a horse running. 1887. National Gallery, London.

Grove Art Online. Web. 2 Nov. 2009.

Note: In this example, there is no image title, so a descriptive title including image format is given, with no italics.

Print Source

Work of Visual Art - Private Collection - Format

Last Name, First Name. (Image creator, if known.) Title of Work. Work date (if unknown,

type N.d.). Image format. Name of individual or institution which owns the image

(If collector is unknown, or wishes to remain anonymous, type Private collection,

and leave the city name out), city where institution or collection is located.

Example

Heckman, Albert. Windblown Trees. N.d. Lithograph on paper. Private collection.

Reproduced Work of Art in a Print Source - Format

Last Name, First Name. (Image creator, if known.) Title of Work. Work Date (if unknown,

write N.d.). Image format. Name of individual or institution which owns image (if known),

institution location. Book Title. By Author name. City, State: Publisher, Date. Page,

figure, or plate number. Print.

Example

Rousseau, Henri. The Ship in the Storm. 1896. Painting. Musee de l'Orangerie, 

Paris. Henri Rousseau: Jungles in Paris. By Claire Freshes, et al. Washington: 

National Gallery of Art, 2006. 232. Print.

Maps

Print map

Last name, First name (Map creator, if known). Map Title. Format. Publication city: Publisher,

Date. Medium of publication.

Example, No Creator

Michigan. Map. Chicago: Rand, 2000. Print.

Online Map

Last name, First name (Map creator, if known). "Map Title." Format. Publication city: Publisher,

Date. Web site.  Web site publisher. Copyright date. Web. Date accessed.

Example

Smiley, Thomas. "Middle States." School atlas map. Philadelphia: Hogan & Thompson, 1842.

David Rumsey Map Collection. Cartography Associates, 2010. Web. 20 Sept. 2010.

Example, No Creator

"Maplewood, New Jersey." Map. Google Maps.  Google, 15 May 2008. Web. 15 May 2008.

Map from a Library Database

Example

"Northern British Colonies in America.” Map. Dictionary of American History. Ed. Stanley I. 

Kutler. 3rd ed. Vol. 2. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003. U.S. History In

Context. Web. 21 Sept. 2010. 

For more complete information on map citation, visit the page: Citing Maps from Ohio Wesleyan University.

NOTE: This page is presented in Chicago Style, the citation style most often used by Geography students. However, it will provide a good overview of the wide range of maps, both print and online.

Related Guide