Skip to main content

CDL-001: Orientation to Learning Online - Library Resources & Services Tutorial

Denise Woetzel, Reference Librarian

Denise Woetzel's picture
Denise Woetzel
Contact:
Reynolds Parham Road Campus Library
804-523-5325
Website

CHAT:
ASK A LIBRARIAN • 24/7

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Search the Reynolds Libraries Catalog

 

 

 

Search Tips

Use the library catalog to search for items at all three Reynolds campus libraries including:

  • books (audio, online, & print)
  • videos (DVDs & online) 
  • articles (online)

Specific search tips for using the library catalog:

  • Try a basic keyword search when:
    • you have a narrow or complex topic.  In many cases this means entering two or more search terms to describe your topic.
    • you have only partial information about the author or title.
    • there is no appropriate subject heading or your topic or you are unsure of the correct subject heading
  • Try an author, subject, or title search when you know the exact author, subject, or title
  • If you retrieve too many results for your topic, try a subject search.
  • If your topic is too specific, you may retrieve few or no results.  Try to think of a broader subject area or broader search terms to use for your topic (e.g., Specific topic: the impact of divorce on the academic performance of children.Try a broader search: children and divorce).

For additional information or assistance on searching the library catalog, ask a Reynolds librarian.

General search strategy tips:

  • Use the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT in ALL CAPS to refine your search.  For example:
    • zombies vampires – when using only the AND operator, just use a space between your words. The AND operator is assumed and you will retrieve records that include BOTH terms.
    • zombies OR vampires – you will retrieve records that contain AT LEAST ONE of these words.
    • (zombies OR vampires) AND werewolves - use parentheses to keep combination searches in order.  If you combine operators AND & OR, you will need to also type the operator AND.   You will retrieve records that include at least one of the terms - zombies or vampires, as well as the term - werewolves.
    • zombies NOT vampires – you will retrieve records that include the word, zombies and not the word, vampires.
  • “  ”  use quotation marks to find an exact phrase – e.g., “world war z”
  • ?  enter a question mark to perform a single character wildcard search. For example, type wom?n to search for records that contain at least one of these words - womanwomen.
  • *  enter an asterisk at the end of a root word to pick up all forms of the root word including the plural or singular of a word. For example, type the root word teen* to search for records that contain at least one of these words – teen, teens, teenage, teenager, teenagers.

For additional information on general search strategies, review the Online Search Strategies page from the Step 4b. section of this guide.

Reynolds Libraries Catalog - The Basics

Accessing Reynolds Libraries Catalog

  1. To access and begin a search in the library catalog, go to the Reynolds Libraries home page at: http://library.reynolds.edu.
  2. When the Reynolds Libraries home page appears, type your keywords in the search box located near the top of the screen. Click on the Search button or press the <Enter> key to execute the search.
  3. The library catalog results will appear.
  4. To perform another search while still in the library catalog, enter your search terms in the search window near the top of the screen.

**You can also access the library catalog from most of our course and subject research guides located at http://libguides.reynolds.edu.

Refine Search Results

When the search results screen appears, you have the option to limit your results to type of resource including online articles, online and print books, and multimedia (e.g., online videos and DVDs) as well as various other options.

To limit results to books and videos available (not checked out), click on the Books & Media from the Availability menu on the right.

To limit results to books only, click on Books from the Resource Type menu on the right.

To limit results to print books from a particular campus, Parham, Downtown or Goochland, click on the specific campus link from the Library menu on the right.

You can search for words as author/creator, in the title, or in subject, by using the menu from the simple search screen or using this menu from the Advanced search screen.

Advanced Search Screen:

Online and Off-Campus Access

When viewing the results list or detailed record for an item, online articles, books and videos will be indicated by Online access. Click on Online access to view the item.

If you are accessing eBooks and other online material from off-campus, you will be prompted to login with your My Reynolds username and password.  If you are accessing an EBook Central eBook, you will be prompted to login with your My Reynolds from on and off-campus.

Locate Physical Items in the Library - Available and Checked out items

When viewing the result list, physical items (e.g., print books, DVDs) will include the following information: the specific campus that holds the item, the specific collection where the item is located, and the Library of Congress (LC) call number which indicates where the item is located on the shelf.  If items are available (not checked out), they will be indicated by Available at.

Items checked out will be indicated by Checked out from.

Request Items

If an item is already checked out (indicated by Checked out from), you can request that the item be held for you when it is returned to the library by clicking on Request this item. You can also use the Request this item option to have an item transferred to another campus library for pickup.

1. To request the item, click on the item title from the results list to view the detailed record.

2. When the detailed record appears, click on Sign in under the Request Item section.

3. When the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen appears, sign in with your My Reynolds username and password.

4. After you sign in and are brought back to the detailed records screen, click on Request.

5. When the Request Item window appears, make sure to select the Pickup Location, then click on the Request button.

 

Library Databases

Reynolds Libraries' 160+ licensed databases include:

  • scholarly journal articles
  • popular magazine articles
  • newspaper articles
  • ebooks
  • audio books
  • online videos

Some popular databases include: Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost), Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) and Films on Demand

Find databases through the library's web site: http://library.reynolds.eduDatabases can be searched alphabetically and by subject. 

Academic journalsscholarly articles, and peer-reviewed articles all mean the same thing! All are names for the same type of articles, and they can all be found in the databases.

Reynolds Libraries Catalog searches for articles in some (not all) the Reynolds Libraries databases. Reynolds Libraries Catalog lso finds books, eBooks, video and more.

Unsure about which databases to use? Contact a Reference Librarian for help! 

EBSCOhost Databases: Article Search

Once you refine your topic, search the individual article databases such as Academic Search Complete and MasterFILE Premier. The video below covers how to:

  • Perform a search
  • Use subject terms
  • Use various search techniques (expanders & limiters)
  • Print, email, and save an article
  • Cite an article in APA or MLA format