Research Guides: ART-100 & 106: Research Projects: Find books

Need research help? Ask me!

Denise Woetzel

Email Me

Subjects: Education, English & Literature, Health Sciences, History, Information Literacy, Psychology, Sociology

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Finding books

The Art of Drawing Manga
O'Reilly for Higher Education eBook, 2022.
How Design Makes Us Think: And Feel and Do Things
Call Number: NC997 .A54 2021
PRC Circulating Collection
Immaterial: Rules in Contemporary Art
Oxford Academic eBook, 2022.
The Mirror and the Palette: Rebellion, Revolution, and Resilience: Five Hundred Years of Women's Self Portraits
Call Number: N8354.H54 M57 2021
GC Circulating Collection
On the Nude: Looking Anew at the Naked Body in Art
Taylor & Francis eBook, 2021

When using Quick Search or the library's eBook databases to find books, try some of these subject terms:

Types of art:

architecture
acrylic painting
animation
calligraphy
ceramics
cinematography
comic books
drawing
film
graphic design
graphic novels
masonry
mosaics
motion pictures

mural painting
painting
pastel drawing
photography
posters
pottery
prints
quilting
sculpture
skyscrapers
typography
watercolor painting
weaving
woodwork

Specific artists:

henri de toulouse-lautrec
leonardo da vinci
mary cassatt
michelangelo
pablo picasso
salvador dali
steven spielberg
vincent van gogh

andy warhol
annie leibovitz
claude monet
edgar degas
federico fellini
frank lloyd wright
frida kahlo
georgia o'keeffe

Specific movements, regions, time periods:

18th century
abstract art
african art
baroque art
greek sculpture
impressionism art
india motion pictures

japanese art
modern art
pop art
realism art
renaissance art
roman architecture
surrealism art

Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to a wide variety of multi-disciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and DRM-free chapter downloads (Full text)
eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text online books in a wide variety of subject areas. (Full text)
Oxford Academic eBooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to academic eBooks in a wide variety of subject areas, with a concentration in the humanities and social sciences. (Full text)
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBook collection covers a wide variety of disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries eBook link or eBook database link from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.

You can browse the following Library of Congress (LC) call number ranges in our library to find print books to check out:

N Fine Arts (General)
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing, Graphic Arts
ND Painting
NK Decorative Arts