Research Guides: HRI-119: Nutrition for Food Service: Find articles

Reference Librarian

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Why use the databases?

Just doing a Google search probably won't be good enough for your research. The articles found through library databases will be more credible and scholarly. The databases will also save you the extra step of making sure your sources are valid.

Librarians' top database picks

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
Health Source: Consumer Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. (Full text)
Environment Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. (Full text)
GreenFILE [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE covers human impact to the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (Full text)
MEDLINE with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide biomedical literature. Includes broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. (Full-text)
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general database includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide variety of topics. (Full-text)

PubMed is another option from the US National Library of Medicine. It comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical information from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books.