List of Subjects
- Arguments, Viewpoints, Controversial Issues
- Arts & Music
- Biographies
- Biology
- Book Reviews
- Business & Economics
- Chemistry
- Computer Science & Information Technology
- Culinary Arts & Hospitality Management
- Education
- Engineering & Materials Science
- English & Literature
- Foreign Language Databases
- Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences
- Health & Medicine
- History
- Horticulture
- Law & Government
- Mathematics
- Newspapers
- Philosophy & Religion
- Physics
- Psychology
- Reference
- Science (general)
- Social Sciences
- Statistics
Icon Legend
Full-text Database. Either all material or at least a portion of material in database is available in full-text.
VIVA database subscription (Virtual Library of Virginia - statewide library consortium)
VCCS database subscription (Virginia Community College System consortium)
Database subscription for JSRCC affilliates only
First time users will need to create an account while on campus in order to use off campus.
Video Clip Available - click on the icon to view a video tutorial on how to use this resource.
Popular Multidisciplinary Databases
These are a few databases that may be useful in your research. If you need help, ask a librarian.
- Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. (EBSCOhost)
Tutorial Video Clip - Associates Program Source
Designed specifically for junior & community colleges with a primary focus on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas explored include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. Updated weekly. (EBSCOhost) - CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Tutorial Video Clip - JSTOR
Digital archive of full text core journals in humanities, social sciences and sciences. It contains the entire runs of over 500 hundred important scholarly journals, from the first volume up to the volumes published 3-5 years ago. (JSTOR)
Tutorial Video Clip - MasterFILE Premier
Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier includes: reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. (EBSCOhost)
Tutorial Video Clip
Full Text?
If a database has this icon next to it:
, this means that you may be able to read the article from that database. If the paper icon does not appear near the title, you will not be able to read the article from the database.
You can, however, request to access the article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out "Borrower Information" and "Article Information. A current JSRCC ID is required to use this service, and interlibrary loan materials must be picked up in person.
Interlibrary loan requests are processed as quickly as possible. We ask that you allow a minimum of 2 days for journal articles and a minimum of 7 days for other resources. If you have any questions, please contact the library.
Off-Campus Access to Library Databases
- Use MyJSRCC username and password to access library databases from off-campus. If you click on any JSRCC Library database link from off-campus, you will get a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen first. Login with the same username and password you use for accessing any services through My JSRCC (e.g., Blackboard). After you login, you will get the database search screen.

-
For more information, see the VCCS Off-Campus Access to Library Databases web page.
Ask A Librarian |
Contact Info Downtown campus: 804-523-5333 Goochland campus: 804-523-5419 Parham campus: 804-523-5329 Send Email |
Related Guides
- Last Updated May 4, 2012
This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.


Loading...
