Topic Ideas & Overviews
If you are having trouble selecting your topic for a research assignment or paper, you can get topic ideas and overviews by browsing:
- library databases
- web sites
- books
The sources listed on this page can help you formulate your thesis statement.
Comments (0)
Library Databases
- CQ Researcher
Browse by Topic or browse Pro/Con sections by topic. - Issues & Controversies
Browse the following sections: Need a Research Topic?, Subject Index, Issues: Pro and Con. - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Browse the topics listed on the main screen. Select a topic then browse through the results under Viewpoints to help formulate a thesis statement. - Today's Science
Browse the following sections: Need a Research Topic?, Subject Index, Hot Topics. - World News Digest
Browse the following sections: Need a Research Topic?, Top News Stories by Issue.
Selecting a Topic
Created by Pima Community College Libraries, Tucson, AZ, Information Literacy Tutorial - Episode 2.
Web Sites
- 100 Research Paper Topics
Midway College Library - Alphabetical Index of Topics
Best Information on the Net, St. Ambrose University Library - Controversial Issues
Santa Ana College Library - Debatabase
Idea, International Debate Education Association - Idea Generator
Old Dominion University Libraries - Issue Guides
Public Agenda for Citizens - PBS NewsHour - Topics

- Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
ProCon.org - SpeakOut.com - Issues
SpeakOut.com - Times Topics
New York Times
Books
Review the following series of books from the library's circulating collection. These books can be checked out of the library:
Here is just a sample of specialized encyclopedias in the library's collection. Encyclopedias provide topic overviews:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library [online collection]. Includes encyclopedias from the following subject areas: business, history, law, medicine, nation & world, science, social science.
- Diets and Dieting: A Cultural Encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia of Addictions
- Encyclopedia of American Education
- Encyclopedia of Computer Science & Technology
- Encyclopedia of Gangs
- Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
- Encyclopedia of Media and Politics
- Encyclopedia of Religion
- Immigration in America Today: An Encyclopedia
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family
Ask A Librarian |
Contact Info Downtown campus: 804-523-5333 Goochland campus: 804-523-5419 Parham campus: 804-523-5329 Send Email |



Loading...
