Research Guides: ENG 112 OER Repository: Research & Writing

Need research help? Ask us!

Contact:

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Evaluating Sources (Video) by Western University
A tutorial describing how to evaluate sources. Brought to you by Western Libraries.
Locating Evidence
This handout will provide a broad overview of gathering and using evidence. It will help you decide what counts as evidence, put evidence to work in your writing, and determine whether you have enough evidence. It will also offer links to additional resources.
"Why Wikipedia does belong in the classroom" by Jonathan Obar
An academic argues in favor of using Wikipedia for both teaching and research. In tone and organization, this article aims more for other academics than for students, but it's useful as a counterpoint to Brian Proffitt's agument that Wikipedia doesn't belong.
"Why Wikipedia does not belong in the classroom" by Brian Proffitt
Brian Proffitt uses an accessible, informal tone to present his anti-Wikipedia case.
Interviewing--Purdue OWL
Writing a Good Research Question--CIRT
Developing a Research Question--Steely Library NKU (Video)

Cutting and Pasting: A Senior Thesis by (Insert Name) by Brent Staples
"A friend who teaches at a well-known eastern university told me recently that plagiarism was turning him into a cop. He begins the semester collecting evidence, in the form of an in-class essay that gives him a sense of how well students think and write. He looks back at the samples later when students turn in papers that feature their own, less-than-perfect prose alongside expertly written passages lifted verbatim from the Web."
Why We Cite
From the UNC Writing Center.
Plagiarism and Academic Dishonesty
Discussion of plagiarism from The MLA Style Guide.
Plagiarism
From the UNC Writing Center.

Abstracts
This handout provides definitions and examples of the two main types of abstracts: descriptive and informative. It also provides guidelines for constructing an abstract and general tips for you to keep in mind when drafting. Finally, it includes a few examples of abstracts broken down into their component parts.
Annotated Bibliographies
This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation.

Research @ Reynolds LibGuide
A detailed guide of the research process containing the following categories (units):

Topics
Types of Information
Finding Books
Finding Articles
Using the Internet
Evaluating Sources
Citing Sources

Each unit also contains useful handouts and worksheets for students.
The MLA Style Center (8th Edition)
The Informed Writer 5/e by Charles Bazerman
Open access book from Colorado State U Press. Publisher's description: "The Informed Writer, offered here in its first open-access edition, addresses a wide range of writing activites and genres, from summarizing and responding to sources to writing the research paper and writing about literature. This edition of the book has been adapted from the fifth edition, published in 1995 by Houghton Mifflin. Copyrighted materials—primarily examples within the text—have been removed from this edition."