Legal Research

A Library of Congress archive of Congressional Records and Bills of the U.S.

Cornell University Law School

Cornell University Law School

From the Library of Congress

Decisions in full-text. Cornell University Law School

From the Washington University Law in St. Louis. Information on Supreme Court decisions from 1953-2008.

Accesses general and permanent laws of the United States

Provides "information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government." Includes a searchable court locator, court services, forms and fees, and multimedia resources. Comprehensive.

Provides information about various topics of public interest, including Internet safety, victim notification, identity theft protection, consumer assistance, and many other programs that uphold the Constitution and support the laws of the Commonwealth.

Searchable database of Virginia statutory law. Legislative Information System, Virginia General Assemby.

From the Virginia General Assembly. Includes information on the current and previous sessions. Also includes searchable databases of session bills & resolutions, session bill summaries, Constitution of Virginia, Code of Virginia, Virginia Administration Code, Reports to the General Assembly, and Rules of the Supreme Court.

Search for code of ordinances for cities and counties nationwide.

A non-partisan website that aggregates information about the General Assembly, the lawmaking body that governs the state of Virginia. It is an independent, volunteer-run website that is in no way affiliated with the Virginia General Assembly or the state government.

Contains information on Virginia courts, cases, publications, statistics, manuals, programs, services, and directories.

The legislature passes laws, found in the Code of Virginia, which must be enforced by regulatory agencies. The Virginia Administrative Code contains these regulations.

Includes sections on :Who’s My Legislator?; Citizen’s Guide; and Legislative Information System Search, by Session.

Forms for all Virginia state courts are provided and some can be completed online.

The Office of the Registrar serves as the central repository for all regulations adopted by state agencies. This website provides information to the public about the regulatory process in Virginia and how citizens can participate. The website also provides resources for agency regulatory coordinators to use when submitting regulatory packages to the Office of the Registrar for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations.

A source of information about proposed changes to Virginia's regulations, including a meetings calendar and board minutes. This site also facilitates public participation through online comment forums and an email notification service.

Cardiff University

Includes synonyms from Burton's Legal Thesaurus. The Free Dictionary.com

Very basic online legal encyclopedia offering minimal but practical definitions and descriptions.

U.S. National Archives and Records Administration

by Peter W. Martin, Cornell University Law School. It was most recently revised in the fall of 2011 to take account of changes in the citation rules of a number of U.S. jurisdictions, having been revised the year before to reflect the appearance of the fourth edition of the ALWD Citation Manual and the nineteenth edition of The Bluebook, both published in 2010.

by Peter W. Martin. Free 2013 eBook from CALI's eLangdell® Press.