Research Guides: Arts & Music: Find Books and eBooks

Need research help? Ask me!

Denise Woetzel

Email Me

Subjects: Education, English & Literature, Health Sciences, History, Information Literacy, Psychology, Sociology

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Finding Books and eBooks in the Library

Search the Reynolds Libraries Catalog

When using the library catalog or the library's eBook databases to find books, try some of these subject terms:

art
artists
arts
art history
dance
digital art
drawing

graphic design
music
musicians
painting
photography
sculpture
theater

Also try searching for artists/musicians by name (e.g. Picasso), the names of famous works (e.g. Romeo and Juliet), movements (e.g. Baroque), region and the word art (e.g. American Art).

Search these eBook databases for more eBooks.

Brill eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides eBooks in the subject areas of Classical Studies, Language & Linguistics, Literature and Cultural Studies, and Social Sciences. Limited full text available.
Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to a wide variety of multi-disciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and DRM-free chapter downloads (Full text)
Oxford Academic eBooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to academic eBooks in a wide variety of subject areas, with a concentration in the humanities and social sciences. (Full text)

Interpreting Art by Sam Rose
JSTOR eBook, 2022
Performance Art: Education and Practice by Angeliki Avgitidou
Taylor & Francis eBook, 2023
See What You're Missing: New Ways of Looking at the World Through Art by Will Gompertz
Call Number: N5303 .G64 2023
On the shelf at Parham Campus Library
Form As Harmony in Rock Music by Drew Nobile
Oxford University Press eBook, 2020
Crossroads: How the Blues Shaped Rock 'n' Roll (and Rock Saved the Blues) by John Milward
Call Number: ML3521 .M56 2013
EBook Central, 2013
On the shelf at Parham Road Campus Library

You can browse the following call number ranges at our campus libraries to find print books to check out:

M - Music
N - Fine Arts
NA - Architecture
NB - Sculpture
NC - Drawing, Graphic Arts
NK - Decorative Arts

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.