Research Guides: The Future of the Book: Find articles

Need research help? Ask us!

Reynolds Librarians

Contact:

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Find articles

Search terms to try

Try these PRIMARY search terms to find articles in the databases:

books, electronic books, electronic publishing

Try these SECONDARY search terms to find articles in the databases:

academic libraries, attitudes, books & reading, college students, consumers, digital libraries, distance education, electronic book readers, future, higher education, literacy, trends

Selected Database Search Results

The links below will automatically run these selected searches in the EBSCOhost databases.

If you click on these links from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen first.
Login with your My Reynolds username & password.
After you login, you will the article search results screen will appear.

Librarians' top pick - EBSCOhost databases

Selecting and searching EBSCOhost databases - Steps:

From the EBSCOhost main menu, checkmark the box next to each database that would be relevant to your specific theme. Suggested databases to search simultaneously: Academic Search Complete, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Complete, and Education Research Complete.
After selecting the databases you wish to search, click on the Continue button on the top or bottom of the screen.
When the Advanced Search screen appears, type in your search terms.
You can also limit your search to Full Text articles only and enter a publication date range.

EBSCO Choose Databases menu This link opens in a new window
Use EBSCOhost's main menu to search a wide variety of databases simultaneously. (Full text)

Argument databases

**NOTE: When searching the CQ Researcher or Issues & Controversies databases keep it simple and use only primary search terms such as ebooks or electronic books.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. (Full text)
Issues & Controversies [Facts on File] This link opens in a new window
Presents and enhances the full backfile of Issues and Controversies On File. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events. (Full text)
Opposing Viewpoints [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide variety of resources covering current social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Includes pro/con viewpoint essays, scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, statistics and primary sources. (Full-text)

EBSCOhost Advanced Searching Tutorial

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.. .

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.