Research Guides: Dental Assisting: Finding Articles

Reference Librarian

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Why use the databases?

Databases are a great place to find information on DENTAL ASSISTING topics! Click on some of them listed below to get started.

Just doing a Google search probably won't be good enough for your research. The articles found through library databases are guaranteed to be scholarly, saving you the extra step of making sure your sources are valid. See our handout [pdf] of Library Databases vs. Google for more information.

Librarians' Top Picks

These databases are meant specifically for looking up articles about dental assisting.

For example, Dental Assistant, "the professional journal of the American Dental Assistants Association (ADAA) which is dedicated to furthering the education and professional development of the working dental assistant is a journal that is published on a bi-monthly basis and covers such topics as technical and theoretical aspects of chairside or clinical assisting, issues of business administration, and continuing education. The publication transitioned to a digital publication in 2015." Dental Assistant is available in CINAHL Complete.

CINAHL Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. Searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals. Coverage dates back to 1937. (Full text)
MEDLINE with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide biomedical literature. Includes broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. (Full-text)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.(Full text)
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes the Oxford’s Dictionary of Dentistry which provide over 4,000 definitions covering all the important terms and concepts used in dentistry today.
Physician's Desk Reference (PDR) This link opens in a new window
PDR.net is the free companion to the Physician's Desk Reference book. It is searchable and contains the concise monographs for listed drugs. (Full text)
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical resource includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug interactions, and a number of medical calculators. To access the full-text articles from on or off campus, you will need to register with UpToDate after logging in using your MyReynolds account. Click on Login / Register link from the initial UpToDate screen. You can choose your own username & password to register.(Full text)

Also Try: Popular General Databases

These databases provide access to full text articles in many areas of study, including that of pharmacy technicians.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
Associates Program Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Designed for subjects of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. Updated weekly. (Full text)
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general database includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide variety of topics. (Full-text)

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.