Skip to Main Content

ENG-241: Survey of American Literature I: 15th Century to Mid-19th Century

Librarian's top pick databases to find articles on authors and literary works

Gale Literature Search Tips & Tutorial

To find literary criticism articles that critique two or more literary works by an author:

  1. Go to the Gale Literature initial basic search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the search box.
  3. When the results screen appears, review the articles under the Literature Criticism section.

To find biographical articles on an author's life:

  1. Go to the Gale Literature initial basic search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the search box.
  3. When the results screen appears, review the articles under the Biographies section.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific literary work by an author:

  1. Go to the Gale Literature Advanced Search  screen.
  2. Type the specific title of the work in the Name of Work search box.
  3. Type the author's first and last name in the Person-By or About search box.
  4. When the results screen appears, review the articles under the Literature Criticism section.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific theme in one or more literary works:

  1. Go to the Gale Literature Advanced Search  screen.
  2. Type keywords that describe a specific theme in the 1st basic search box.
  3. Type the specific title of the work in the Name of Work search box - OR -type the author's first and last name in the Person-By or About search box.
  4. When the results screen appears, review the articles under the Literature Criticism section.

MLA International Bibliography Search Tips & Tutorial

To find literary criticism articles that critique two or more literary works by an author:

  1. Go to the MLA International Biography search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box and select SA Primary Subject Author from the Select a Field menu on the right.
  3. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific literary work by an author:

  1. Go to the MLA International Biography search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box and select SA Primary Subject Author from the Select a Field menu on the right.
  3. Type the tile of the specific work in the 2nd search box and select SK Primary Subject Work from the Select a Field menu on the right.
  4. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific theme in one or more literary works:

  1. Go to the MLA International Biography search screen.
  2. Type keywords that describe a specific theme in the 1st search box. You can also select SU Subject from the Select a Field menu on the right.
  3. Type the author's first and last name in the 2nd search box and select SA Primary Subject Author from the Select a Field menu on the right - OR - type the tile of the specific work in the 2nd search box and select SK Primary Subject Work from the Select a Field menu on the right.
  4. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

NOTE: When reviewing results, an Academic Journal icon, indicates that the resource is a scholarly journal article. A Review icon indicates the resource is a book review, You should avoid using book reviews unless your research assignment instructs you to use book reviews.

Academic Search Complete & Humanities International Complete Search Tips & Tutorial

To find literary criticism articles that critique two or more literary works by an author:

  1. Go to the search screen for either database.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box.
  3. Type the word criticism in the 2nd search box and select SU Subject Terms from the Select a Field menu on the right.
  4. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as the Peer Reviewed or Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific literary work by an author:

  1. Go to the search screen for either database.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box.
  3. Type the tile of the specific work in the 2nd search box.
  4. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as Peer Reviewed or Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

To find biographical articles on an author's life:

  1. Go to the search screen for either database.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box.
  3. Type the word biograph* in the 2nd search box and select SU Subject Terms from the Select a Field menu on the right.
  4. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as the Peer Reviewed or Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific theme in one or more literary works:

  1. Go to the search screen for either database.
  2. Type keywords that describe a specific theme in the 1st search box. You can also select SU Subject from the Select a Field menu on the right.
  3. Type the author's first and last name in the 2nd search box - OR - type the tile of the specific work in the 2nd search box.
  4. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as the Peer Reviewed or Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

NOTE: When reviewing results, an Academic Journal icon, indicates that the resource is a scholarly journal article. A Review icon indicates the resource is a book review, You should avoid using book reviews unless your research assignment instructs you to use book reviews.

JSTOR Search Tips & Tutorials

To find articles that critique a specific author's works or to find articles on an author's life:

  1. Go to the JSTOR Advanced Search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box.
  3. From the Item Type menu, check mark articles.
  4. From the Narrow by Discipline and/or Journal menu, checkmark Language & Literature.

To find articles that critique a specific work:

  1. Go to the JSTOR Advanced Search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box.
  3. Type the title of the work in the 2nd search box.
  4. From the Item Type menu, check mark articles.
  5. From the Narrow by Discipline and/or Journal menu, checkmark Language & Literature.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific theme in one or more literary works:

  1. Go to the JSTOR Advanced Search screen.
  2. Type keywords that describe a specific theme in the 1st search box.
  3. Type the author's first and last name in the 2nd search box - OR - type the title of the work in the 2nd search box.
  4. From the Item Type menu, check mark articles.
  5. From the Narrow by Discipline and/or Journal menu, checkmark Language & Literature.

Project Muse Search Tips & Tutorial

To find articles that critique a specific author's works or to find articles on an author's life:

  1. Go to the Project Muse search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the search box.
  3. When the results screen appears, select Articles under the Content Type filter menu on the left to eliminate any book reviews.

To find articles that critique a specific work:

  1. Go to the Project Muse search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name and the title of the specific work in the search box.
  3. When the results screen appears, select Articles under the Content Type filter menu on the left to eliminate any book reviews.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific theme in one or more literary works:

  1. Go to the Project Muse search screen.
  2. Type keywords that describe a specific theme in the search box.
  3. Also type the author's first and last name  - OR - type the title of the work in the search box.
  4. When the results screen appears, select Articles under the Content Type filter menu on the left to eliminate any book reviews.

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus. 

  1. From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
  2. When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.. .

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.