Skip to main content

ENG-243: Survey of British Literature l

This guide presents library resources covering British texts from the Anglo-Saxon period to the 18th century.

Reference & Information Literacy Librarian

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Library databases to try:

Literature Online Tutorial

Literature Resource Center Tutorial

MLA International Bibliography Tutorial

If you select the EBSCOhost Choose Databases menu, you have the option to search several databases at the same time including: Academic Search Complete, Humanities International Complete, MasterFILE Premier and MLA International Bibliography with Full Text.

To find articles that critique a specific author's works or to find articles on an author's life:

  1. Go to the JSTOR Advanced Search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box.
  3. From the Item Type menu, checkmark articles.
  4. From the Narrow by Discipline and/or Journal menu, checkmark Language & Literature.

To find articles that critique a specific work:

  1. Go to the JSTOR Advanced Search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box.
  3. Type the title of the work in the 2nd search box.
  4. From the Item Type menu, checkmark articles.
  5. From the Narrow by Discipline and/or Journal menu, checkmark Language & Literature.

 

 

Use My Reynolds username and password to access library databases from off-campus

If you click on any Reynolds Library database link from off-campus, you will get a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen first.  Login with the same username and password you use for accessing any services through My Reynolds (e.g., Canvas). After you login, you will get the database search screen.

If you are a student currently enrolled in a Reynolds course, and cannot login from off campus, please email Will Weaver (Web Services Librarian) dweaver@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5323.