Skip to Main Content

SOC-200: Honors Research Project / College Students & Mental Health / Substance Abuse

Find articles

AND     

Type AND between your keywords to narrow your search. The database or search engine will only retrieve those articles or web pages that contain both words. Using AND will decrease the number or hits or articles or web pages in your result list.

Example: school AND crime

Note: Some databases and search engines (such as Google and Craigslist) allow you to type a plus sign (+) in front of a keyword when doing a basic search. This works the same as AND.

Example: +school +crime

 

OR     undefined

OR Type OR between your keywords to broaden your search. The database or search engine will retrieve those articles or web pages that contain at least one of these words. Using OR will increase the number of articles or web pages in your result list (especially if not used in combination with AND or NOT). Use OR between keywords that are synonyms or have similar meanings.

Example: baby OR infant

 

NOT     undefined

Type NOT before a keyword to exclude that keyword from your search. Using NOT will decrease the number of articles or web pages in your result list. The best use of NOT is when you are searching for a keyword that may have multiple meanings.

Example: bat NOT baseball

Combo     undefined

Use parentheses ( ) to keep combination searches in order. In the example below, the database or search engine will retrieve articles or web pages that must contain the word law and at least one of the words in parentheses.

Example: (ecstasy OR mdma) AND law

Example 1:
"college students"
AND
"mental health" OR "mental disorder" OR "mental illness" OR depression OR anxiety OR stress

 

AND
"united states" 

**Click here to execute an EBSCOhost databases search using the terms listed above**

This search will find scholarly, full-text journal articles published within the last 5 years.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Example 2:
"college students"
AND
"substance abuse" OR "drug abuse" OR "drug addictionOR "drug use" OR alcohol* OR marijuana OR opioid*

 

AND
"united states" 

**Click here to execute an EBSCOhost databases search using the terms listed above**

This search will find scholarly, full-text journal articles published within the last 5 years.

 

If you click on any Reynolds Library database link from off-campus, you will get a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen first. Use your My Reynolds username & password to access library databases from off-campus. 

  1. From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username first then click on the Go button.
  2. Next, enter your password then click on the Go button.

If you are a student currently enrolled in a Reynolds course, and cannot login from off campus, email Will Weaver (Web Services Librarian) dweaver@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5323.

If our library databases do not provide access to the full text of an article or if you would like to borrow a print book that Reynolds Libraries doesn't own, complete an Interlibrary Loan Request form. We will try to get the article or book from another academic library.

  • Please provide detailed information about the article or book..
  • You will be notified by email about the status of the request.
  • Some articles or books may not be available from other libraries.
  • Links to full-text articles can take from one to two weeks to arrive in your email. Print books can take two weeks or longer to arrive in the postal mail. If you anticipate using our Interlibrary Loan Service, please start your research early!