Research Guides: Horticulture: Find articles

Reference Librarian

Lynn Riggs

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Best Databases To Try

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text titles from scholarly journals, trade & industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Coverage: 1960 - current
Associates Program Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Designed for subjects of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. Updated weekly. (Full text)
Biological Science Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Access journal articles in the area of biology, medicine, and the environment. Includes MEDLINE database. Full-text coverage: 1946-current
Environment Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. (Full text)
GreenFILE [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE covers human impact to the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (Full text)
Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window
International weekly journal of science covering all fields of science and technology. (Full-text)

Browse Current Issues of Horticulture, Organic Gardener & Good Organic Gardening

Flipster Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window
Access, browse and read digital magazines on your desktop computer or mobile device. The Flipster app for mobile devices is available through both the Apple and Google Play stores. For detailed instructions on installing the Flipster app on your mobile device and using Flipster, check out our Flipster guide.

JSTOR - Global Plants Collection

Visit the JSTOR database to access the Global Plants collection, which is built in collaboration with libraries, herbaria, archives, museums, and universities to present information on "75% of the world's biodiversity". You can search by plant name, geography, herbarium, or resource type (artifacts, books, and drawings).

The Plant Science collection offers access to botanical resources from around the world. You can view research articles, plant type specimens, foundational reference books, and more than 20,000 botanical illustrations and photographs.

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.