Research Guides: Evidence-Based Nursing : Finding Articles

Reference Librarian

Lynn Riggs

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Librarians' Top Picks: Nursing/Medicine Specific Databases

These full-text databases are meant specifically for those looking up articles about Health & Medicine.

CINAHL Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
WATCH THE CINAHL VIDEO in the burgundy tab below this one for tips on searching!
MEDLINE with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide biomedical literature. Includes broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. (Full-text)

Oxford Medicine Online
Oxford Medicine Online is a collection of online medical resources which cover every stage in a medical career. This database allows users to browse and search a range of online medical textbooks and handbooks from a single location. (Full text)

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical resource includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug interactions, and a number of medical calculators. To access the full-text articles from on or off campus, you will need to register with UpToDate after logging in using your MyReynolds account. Click on Login / Register link from the initial UpToDate screen. You can choose your own username & password to register.(Full text)

Also Try: Popular General Databases

These databases provide access to full text articles in many areas of study, including that of nursing and evidence-based practice.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
ProQuest - Search all databases This link opens in a new window
Searches several Proquest databases including Ebook Central, GeoRef, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)‎, Literature Online, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global‎, SciTech Premium Collection‎, and Sports Medicine & Education Index‎.‎
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to journal articles & eBooks. Covers a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage:1977-present.

Why use the databases?

Just doing a Google search probably won't be good enough for your research. The articles found through library databases are guaranteed to be scholarly, saving you the extra step of making sure your sources are valid. See our handout [pdf] of Library Databases vs. Google for more information.

Journals

We have access (both print and electronic) to many evidence-based nursing related journals. For a list by subject area, see Serial Solutions. TIP: You can search subdisciplines (like "geriatrics" or "substance abuse disorders") for related information by searching the Subject Headings in Health & Biological Sciences for a broad topic overview.

Subject Keywords

Evidence-Based Nursing

Evidence-Based Medicine

Evidence-Based Practice

Nursing Research

Nursing Research methodology

Hint: Use an * to expand your book and article searches. For example, entering pharmac* as a keyword would retrieve pharmacy, pharmacist, pharmaceutical, pharmacology, etc