Research Guides: EMS/Emergency Medical Services: Finding Articles

Reference Librarian

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Why use the databases?

Just doing a Google search probably won't be good enough for your research. The articles found through library databases are guaranteed to be scholarly, saving you the extra step of making sure your sources are valid. See our handout of Library Databases vs. the Open Web for more information.

Journals

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED JOURNALS:

Annals of Emergency Medicine: available online at https://www.annemergmed.com
- ***Best for EVIDENCE-BASED Research!
EMS World: available online at https://www.hmpgloballearningnetwork.com/site/emsworld
- Available in print: Jun 2018 - December 2022
- Available through CINAHL Complete: Oct 2010 - Dec 2017
JEMS: Journal of Emergency Medical Services: available online at https://www.jems.com/journal

Journal of Special Operations Medicine
- Available in print: Summer 2018 - Present
- To find indexing:
  - Look in MEDLINE with Full Text (listed below) OR
  - Look in the JSOM Keyword Index

More Journal Articles: We have access (both print and electronic) to more journals covering emergency medical services. For a list by subject area, see Serial Solutions and look under Medicine for "Emergency Medicine."

Databases for EMS/Emergency Medical Services

Find full-text articles on Emergency Medical Services in these health, medicine, and nursing databases.

MEDLINE with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide biomedical literature. Includes broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. (Full-text)
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
Physician's Desk Reference (PDR) This link opens in a new window
PDR.net is the free companion to the Physician's Desk Reference book. It is searchable and contains the concise monographs for listed drugs. (Full text)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.(Full text)

Also Try: Popular General Databases

These databases provide access to full text articles in many areas of study, including Emergency Medical Services and Emergency Medical Technicians.

Associates Program Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Designed for subjects of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. Updated weekly. (Full text)
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general database includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide variety of topics. (Full-text)

Spanish Language Databases

These databases provide health and medicine related articles in Spanish.

MedicLatina [en Español] [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. (Full-text)
Fuente Academica [en Español] [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of scholarly Spanish language journals in many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. (Full text)