Research Help for English

Hello! Hola! Salaam!

Below are several video tutorials that can help you as you search for and evaluate sources for English classes. Also included are video transcripts, handouts and worksheets. We are happy to help you individually as well! See the Get Extra Help section for our contact info.

Lynn Riggs, MSLS, Head Librarian, Reynolds Community College

Denise Woetzel, MLIS, Lead Instruction Librarian, Reynolds Community College

Learn about the various differences between using the Reynolds Libraries databases versus using Google including:

• most common types of resources found by using either source
• when it is best to use either source
• credibility issues
• cost and access issues
• and options for searching for and saving resources

Learn how to distinguish between a scholarly journal article and a popular magazine article by evaluating various characteristics related to: authorship, content, audience, cited references, publisher, images used, length of the article, publication cycle and advertisements.

Learn about the basic steps to follow when determining what keywords to use when searching for resources in the library databases. 

Learn about the basic steps for:

• accessing Academic Search Complete database from the library’s website
• searching for articles in the database and limiting search results
• viewing a full-text article in the database
• and emailing the article and MLA citation to yourself

Learn why it is important to evaluate resources as well as how to use the 5 W’s criteria in your evaluation process. The 5 W’s criteria include Who, What, Where, When and Why questions to ask when deciding whether to use a resource for a college level research assignment.

Learn why it is important to evaluate resources as well as how to use four criteria for evaluating resources including: Authority, Accuracy, Currency and Objectivity. Each criteria includes questions to ask when deciding whether to use a resource for a college level research assignment.

Learn how to access and search the Reynolds Libraries catalog, use the filtering menus to find eBook results and access the ProQuest Ebook Central database.

Learn how to access the eBook databases from the Reynolds Libraries website. Also learn how to use the ProQuest Ebook Central database to search for and navigate through eBooks.

Just in case you need individual help, here are some options:

• Email us at LRiggs@reynolds.edu or MWoetzel@reynolds.edu
• Use the 24/7 Chat service at Reynolds Libraries
• Fill out a Research Consultation Request form. Indicate days & times that work for you and we will schedule a 1-on-1 meeting with you tailored to your research needs.