Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Dive Deep: Open Access Journals

Open Access Journals

Open Access (OA) stands for unrestricted access and unrestricted reuse. Here’s why that matters.

Most publishers own the rights to the articles in their journals. Anyone who wants to read the articles must pay to access them. Anyone who wants to use the articles in any way must obtain permission from the publisher and is often required to pay an additional fee.

Excerpt from Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window.

Academic Journals
A broad-based publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals. Academic Journals currently publishes open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology, and Medicine) publisher with an open access publishing model.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Google Scholar
Freely accessible web search engine that indexes and links to scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Many of the articles indexed are from open access journals.
Hybrid Pedagogy This link opens in a new window
Articles about Critical Digital Pedagogy, working to build student agency in today’s education system.
NASA PubSpace This link opens in a new window
NASA is preserving and providing public access to peer-reviewed papers from NASA-funded research beginning in 2016.
Open Library of Humanities This link opens in a new window
A peer-reviewed open access, internationally supported, academic led and high quality multi-journal platform for higher level humanities.
Oxford Academic Open Journals
Titles participating in the Oxford Open scheme are broadly included in one of two open access models, either full or optional open access.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
ScienceDirect - Open Access Journals
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering open access journal articles and book chapters.
Springer Open Journals
Peer-reviewed, fully open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences.
Wiley Open Access This link opens in a new window
Wiley Open Access publishes a number of online journals across biological, chemical and health sciences. "Browse Journals" or search across "all areas."