Research Guides: Multimedia Resources: Multimedia in the library databases

Need research help? Ask me!

Denise Woetzel

Email Me

Subjects: Education, English & Literature, Health Sciences, History, Information Literacy, Psychology, Sociology

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Access World News database - audio files & videos

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Access World News features thousands of U.S. and global news sources. Includes political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, social sciences and more. (Full text)

From the search results screen, you can select Audio or Video from the Source type menu to the left of the results screen to link to local news audio and video files.

CQ Researcher database - maps & graphs

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. (Full text)

Most reports from this database contain a Maps/Graphs section.

EBSCOhost databases - Images

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)

For any EBSCOhost database you access, including Academic Search Complete or MasterFILE Premier, you will see an Images search option located on the top blue menu bar. You can select Images to initiate an image search.

Issues & Controversies database - videos & infographics

Issues & Controversies [Infobase] This link opens in a new window
Presents and enhances the full backfile of Issues and Controversies On File. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events. (Full text)

Depending on the topic searched, results may contain media (videos) and infograpics. You can also browse through a collection of editorial cartoons.

Opposing Viewpoints database - infographics, images, videos, statistics & audio

Opposing Viewpoints [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide variety of resources covering current social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Includes pro/con viewpoint essays, scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, statistics and primary sources. (Full-text)

Depending on the topic searched, results may contain infographics, images, videos, statistics and audio files (mainly broadcasts from NPR).

Statista database - charts & infographics

Video databases

Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) This link opens in a new window
AVON includes over 82,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Included are news programs, training, lectures, interviews, documentaries, ethnographies, performances, and feature and short films. AVON includes a set of over 2,000 videos to support student success in areas such as stress management, college life, communication, and success in math.
Docuseek Film Collection This link opens in a new window
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue, and environmental films, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
Films on Demand [Infobase] This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is the leading source of high-quality streaming video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Access to over 38,000 films on a wide variety of subjects. (Videos)

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.