Research Guides: HIS-101: History of Western Civilization I : Ancient Times to Mid 17th Century: Find books

Need research help? Ask me!

Denise Woetzel

Email Me

Subjects: Education, English & Literature, Health Sciences, History, Information Literacy, Psychology, Sociology

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Find books

Below is a sampling of recently published books from Reynolds Libraries collections.

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry That Forged the Medieval World
Call Number: DC65 .P84 2022
DTC Circulating Collection
Egypt's Golden Couple: When Akhenaten and Nefertiti Were Gods on Earth
Call Number: DT87.4 .D37 2022
PRC Circulating Collection
Egypt, Greece, and Rome: A History of Spaces and Places
Taylor & Francis eBook, 2022.
Poverty in Ancient Greece and Rome: Discourses and Realities
Taylor & Francis eBook, 2022.
Powers and Thrones: A New History of the Middle Ages
Call Number: D117 .J56 2021
PRC Circulating Collection

When using the library's catalog or eBook databases to search for books, try some of these subject terms:

By time period:

ancient civilization, ancient history, byzantine empire, civilization history, egypt civilization, greece antiquities, greece civilization, iraq antiquities (refers to Mesopotamia), medieval civilization, middle ages history, middle ages civilization, ottoman empire, reformation, renaissance, rome antiquities, rome history empire

By political/social movement or event:

arthurian romances, black death, constantine and christianity, counter-reformation, discoveries in geography, inquisition, plato republic, reformation-art-renaissance, science renaissance

By specific war:

battle of hastings, crusades, hundred years' war, peloponnesian war, punic wars, thirty years' war, wars of the roses

Search Reynolds Libraries catalog for books:

Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to a wide variety of multi-disciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and DRM-free chapter downloads (Full text)
eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text online books in a wide variety of subject areas. (Full text)
Oxford Academic eBooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to academic eBooks in a wide variety of subject areas, with a concentration in the humanities and social sciences. (Full text)
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBook collection covers a wide variety of disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to journal articles & eBooks. Covers a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage:1977-present.

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the lbrary catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.

Reynolds Library uses Library of Congress Classification to arrange books on the shelves.

Many books on Western civilization or World History can be found in Section C or Section D

If we don't have a book at Reynolds, you can search WorldCat to find books in area libraries:

Research Log Worksheet