Research Guides: Documentary Photography: Find photos in the library databases

Need research help? Ask us!

Reynolds Librarians

Contact:

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Find photos in the library databases

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. (Full text)
Issues & Controversies [Infobase] This link opens in a new window
Presents and enhances the full backfile of Issues and Controversies On File. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events. (Full text)
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general database includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide variety of topics. (Full-text)
National Geographic (1888-1994) This link opens in a new window
Complete collection National Geographic magazine issues from 1888 to 1994 includes articles, images and maos.. (Full-text)
Opposing Viewpoints [Gale] This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide variety of resources covering current social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Includes pro/con viewpoint essays, scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, statistics and primary sources. (Full-text)

Academic Search Complete & MasterFILE Premier - Image Search

Select Images from the More menu at the top of the screen to search for images.

Or type in your search terms from the main search screen. Then scroll down to select Black and White Photograph and/or Color Photograph from the Image Quick View Types menu.

National Geographic Virtual Library - Image Search

From the main search screen, click on IMAGE SEARCH.
When the next screen appears, type your search terms and select Photograph from the Image Type menu.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Find images

From the results screen, click on Images from the Everything menu on the right.
Or scroll down the results screen and click on Images or save images to a folder.

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.