Research Guides: Respiratory Therapy: Find Articles

Reference Librarian

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Librarians' Top Picks: Databases for Respiratory Therapy

These full-text databases are meant specifically for those looking up articles in the realm of health, medicine, and nursing, including respiratory therapy.

CINAHL Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. Searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals. Coverage dates back to 1937. (Full text)
Alt-HealthWatch [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Database focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full-text and peer-reviewed articles. (Full text)
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Includes aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health. (Full text)
Health Source: Consumer Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. (Full text)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.(Full text)
MEDLINE with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide biomedical literature. Includes broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. (Full-text)
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical resource includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug interactions, and a number of medical calculators. To access the full-text articles from on or off campus, you will need to register with UpToDate after logging in using your MyReynolds account. Click on Login / Register link from the initial UpToDate screen. You can choose your own username & password to register.(Full text)

Also Try: Popular General Databases

These databases provide access to full text articles in many areas of study, including respiratory therapy.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
Associates Program Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Designed for subjects of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. Updated weekly. (Full text)
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general database includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide variety of topics. (Full-text)

Why use the databases?

Just doing a Google search probably won't be good enough for your research. The articles found through library databases are guaranteed to be scholarly, saving you the extra step of making sure your sources are valid. See our handout [pdf] of Library Databases vs. Google for more information.

Spanish Language Databases

These databased provide health and medicine related articles in Spanish.

MedicLatina [en Español] [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. (Full-text)
Fuente Academica [en Español] [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of scholarly Spanish language journals in many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. (Full text)

Journals

We have access (both print and electronic) to many journals covering respiratory system diseases. For a list by subject area, see Serial Solutions.

Also Try: Other Databases

These other full-text databases have articles on respiratory therapy.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of review essays published since 1996, tables of contents for 1984 to 1995, and previews of topics for upcoming annual issues. (Full text)

Off-Campus Access to Library Databases

Use MyReynolds username and password to access library databases from off-campus. If you click on any Reynolds Library database link from off-campus, you will get a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen first. Login with the same username and MFA you use for accessing any services through My Reynolds (e.g., Canvas). After you login, you will get the database search screen.

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access to Library Databases web page.