Research Guides: Women's Studies: Find books

Need research help? Ask us!

Reynolds Librarians

Contact:

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Search the Reynolds Libraries Catalog

A sampling of recently published eBooks and print books available from Reynolds Libraries collections

We have many books on women's studies and issues, but these are a few general ones you may find useful.

Rethinking Women's and Gender Studies Volume 2
Taylor & Francis eBook, 2023
The Authority Gap: Why Women Are Taken Less Seriously Than Men and What We Can Do About It
Call Number: HQ1237 .S54 2022
PRC Circulating Collection
Badass Feminist Politics: Exploring Radical Edges of Feminist Theory, Communication, and Activism
Call Number: HQ1191.U6 B34 2022
PRC Circulating Collection
The Doctors Blackwell: ow Two Pioneering Sisters Brought Medicine to Women and Women to Medicine
Call Number: R692 .N56 2021
DTC Circulating Collection
Ida B. the Queen: The Extraordinary Life and Legacy of Ida B. Wells
Call Number: E185.97.W55 D878 2021
DTC Circulating Collection
White Feminism: From the Suffragettes to Influencers and Who They Leave Behind
Call Number: HQ1233 .B423 2021
EBSCOhost eBook, 2021 & PRC Circulating Collection
Women vs. Women: The Case for Cooperation
Taylor & Francis eBook, 2022.
Transforming Scholarship: Why women's and gender studies students are changing themselves and the world by Michele Tracy Berger; Cheryl Radeloff
Routledge eBook, 2021

eBook collections

Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to a wide variety of multi-disciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and DRM-free chapter downloads (Full text)
eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text online books in a wide variety of subject areas. (Full text)
Oxford Academic eBooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to academic eBooks in a wide variety of subject areas, with a concentration in the humanities and social sciences. (Full text)
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBook collection covers a wide variety of disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to journal articles & eBooks. Covers a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage:1977-present.

Search Terms

When looking for books that have to do with women's studies, these are some search terms you might try:

feminism
gender studies
women's studies

Another strategy would be appending searches with 'and gender' or 'and women' to find relevant materials.

For instance, if looking for work at the intersection of religious studies and gender studies you might search:

religion AND women (or) religion AND gender

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.