Research Guides: Literature: Find books

Find books

African-American Writers
Gale Ebooks database
American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies
Gale Ebooks database
British Writers
Gale Ebooks database
Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream
Gale Literature eBook, 2007.
The Oxford Companion to American Literature
Oxford Reference eBook, 2004.

Gale eBooks
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. (Full text)
Gale Literature
Searches across all these Gale resources at the same time: Gale Ebooks, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series and Twayne’s Author Series.

Ebook Central [ProQuest]
Ebook Central provides access to a wide variety of multi-disciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and DRM-free chapter downloads (Full text)
eBook Collection [EBSCO]
Provides access to full-text online books in a wide variety of subject areas. (Full text)
Oxford Reference
Contains dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes both core academic subject, language, and quotation dictionaries as well as encyclopedias on a wide variety of subjects. (Full-text)
Salem Press eBooks
Online access mirror to our print holdings. (Full-text)
Taylor & Francis eBooks
eBook collection covers a wide variety of disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.

Screenshot - Virginia's Community Colleges login screen

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.

Select Advanced Search.
When the Advanced Search menu drops down, select Author/creator from the drop down menu on the left. Then type the author's name in the search window.
Next, select Books from the Material Type menu on the right.

Screenshot - Library Catalog search screen - Search by Author

Select Advanced Search.
When the Advanced Search menu drops down, select Subject from the drop down menu on the left. Then type the author's name and the word, biography in the search window.
Next, select Books from the Material Type menu on the right.

Screenshot - Library Catalog search screen - Search by Subject

Select Advanced Search.
When the Advanced Search menu drops down, select Subject from the drop down menu on the left. Then type the author's name and the word criticism in the search window.
Next, select Books from the Material Type menu on the right.

Screenshot - Library Catalog search screen - Search for literary criticism