Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Style: Chicago 17th edition

Author-Date Style: Citing Books

One author NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page numbers)
  • (Pollan 2006, 99–100)
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Year. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher.
  •  Pollan, Michael. 2006. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin.
Two or three authors

NOTE: (First author's last name and second author's last name Year, page numbers)

  • (Ward and Burns 2007, 52)

BIBLIOGRAPHY:  First author's last name, first name, and second author's first & last names. Year. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher.

  • Ward, Geoffrey C., and Ken Burns. 2007. The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945. New York: Knopf.

Four or more authors

**List all of the authors in the bibliography; in the notes, list only the first author, followed by et al. (“and others”).

NOTE: (First author's last name et al. Year, page numbers)

  • (Sechzer et al. 1996)

BIBLIOGRAPHY: First author's last name, first name, additional author's first initials & last names. Year. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher.

  • Sechzer, Jeri A., S. M. Pfaffilin, F. L. Denmark, A. Griffin, and S. J. Blumenthal. 1996. Women and Mental Health. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University.

Edited, translated, or compiled work
(no author)

NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page numbers)

  • (Lattimore 1951, 91–92)

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Editor/Translator's last name, first name, ed./trans. Year. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher.

  • Lattimore, Richmond, trans. 1951. The Iliad of Homer. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Edited, translated, or compiled work
(with author)

 NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page numbers)

  • (García Márquez 1988, 242–55)

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Year. Book Title. Edited/Translated by Editor/Translator's first & last names. City of Publication: Publisher.

  • García Márquez, Gabriel. 1988. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. London: Cape.

Chapter or part of a book

NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page numbers)

  • (Kelly 2010, 77)

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Year. "Chapter or essay title." In Book Title, edited by Editor's first & last names, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher.

  • Kelly, John D. 2010. “Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War.” In Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, edited by John D. Kelly, Beatrice Jauregui, Sean T. Mitchell, and Jeremy Walton, 67–83. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Chapter in an edited volume originally published elsewhere (Reprint)

NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page numbers)

  • (Cicero 1986, 35)

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Year. "Chapter or essay title." In Book Title, edited by Editor's first & last names. Vol. number of Series Title, edited by Editor's first & last names, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher. Originally published in Editor/Translator's name, ed./trans., Book Title, vol. number (City of Publication: Publisher, Year).

  • Cicero, Quintus Tullius. 1986. “Handbook on Canvassing for the Consulship.” In Rome: Late Republic and Principate, edited by Walter Emil Kaegi Jr. and Peter White. Vol. 2 of University of Chicago Readings in Western Civilization, edited by John Boyer and Julius Kirshner, 33–46. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. Originally published in Evelyn S. Shuckburgh, trans., The Letters of Cicero, vol. 1 (London: George Bell & Sons, 1908).
Preface, foreward, or introduction of a book

NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page numbers)

  • (Rieger 1982, xx–xxi)

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author of introduction's last name, first name. Year. Introduction/preface to Book Title, by author of book's first & last names, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher.

  • Rieger, James. 1982. Introduction to Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus, by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, xi–xxxvii. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.

E-Book

**If a book is available in more than one format, cite the version you consulted. For books consulted online, list a URL; include an access date only if one is required by your instructor. If no fixed page numbers are available, you can include a section title or a chapter number.

NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page numbers or chapter number, if applicable)

  • (Austen 2007)
  • (Kurland and Lerner 1987, chap. 10, doc. 19)

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author last name, first name. Year. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher. E-book format OR access date. URL.

  • Austen, Jane. 2007. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics. Kindle edition.
  • Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. 1987. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.