Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Style: Chicago 17th edition

Notes & Bibliography Style: Citing Books

One author FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.
  • Michael Pollan, The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 99–100.
SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, Shortened Book Title, page number.
  • Pollan, Omnivore’s Dilemma, 3.
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
  •  Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006.
Two or three authors

FIRST NOTE: First author's first & last names and second author's first & last names, Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

  • Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945 (New York: Knopf, 2007), 52.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: First author's last name and second author's last name, Shortened Book Title, page numbers.

  • Ward and Burns, War, 59–61.

BIBLIOGRAPHY:  First author's last name, first name, and second author's first & last names. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

  • Ward, Geoffrey C., and Ken Burns. The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945. New York: Knopf, 2007.

Four or more authors

**List all of the authors in the bibliography; in the notes, list only the first author, followed by et al. (“and others”).

FIRST NOTE: First author's first & last names et al., Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

  • Dana Barnes et al., Plastics: Essays on American Corporate Ascendance in the 1960s. (New York: Knopf, 2011), 132.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: First author's last name et al., Shortened  Book Title, page number.

  • Barnes et al., Plastics, 145.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: First author's last name, first name, additional author's first & last names. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

  • Barnes, Dana, Janet Smith, Daria Silver, and Ben Braddock. Plastics: Essays on American Corporate Ascendance in the 1960s. New York: Knopf, 2011.

Edited, translated, or compiled work
(no author)

FIRST NOTE: Editor/Translator's first & last names, ed./trans., Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

  • Richmond Lattimore, trans., The Iliad of Homer (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951), 91–92.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Editor/Translator's last name, Shortened Book Title, page number.

  • Lattimore, Iliad, 24.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Editor/Translator's last name, first name, ed./trans. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

  • Lattimore, Richmond, trans. The Iliad of Homer. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951.
Edited, translated, or compiled work
(with author)

FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, Book Title, ed./trans. Editor/Translator's first & last names (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

  • Gabriel García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera, trans. Edith Grossman (London: Cape, 1988), 242–55.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, Shortened Book Title, page number.

  • García Márquez, Cholera, 33.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Book Title. Edited/Translated by Editor/Translator's first & last names. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

  • García Márquez, Gabriel. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. London: Cape, 1988.

Chapter or part of a book

FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, "Chapter or Essay title," in Book Title, ed. Editor's first & last names (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

  • John D. Kelly, “Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War,” in Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, ed. John D. Kelly et al. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010), 77.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, "Shortened Chapter title," page numbers.

  • Kelly, “Seeing Red,” 81–82.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. "Chapter or essay title." In Book Title, edited by Editor's first & last names, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

  • Kelly, John D. “Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War.” In Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, edited by John D. Kelly, Beatrice Jauregui, Sean T. Mitchell, and Jeremy Walton, 67–83. Chicago: University  of Chicago Press, 2010.
Chapter in an edited volume originally published elsewhere (Reprint)

FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, "Chapter or Essay title," in Book Title, ed. Editor's first & last names, vol. number of Series Title, ed. Editor's first & last names (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

  • Quintus Tullius Cicero, “Handbook on Canvassing for the Consulship,” in Rome: Late Republic and Principate, ed. Walter Emil Kaegi Jr. and Peter White, vol. 2 of University of Chicago Readings in Western Civilization, ed. John Boyer and Julius Kirshner (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986), 35.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, "Shortened Chapter or essay title," page numbers.

  • Cicero, “Canvassing for the Consulship,” 35.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. "Chapter or essay title." In Book Title, edited by Editor's first & last names. Vol. number of Series Title, edited by Editor's first & last names, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher, Year. Originally published in Editor/Translator's name, ed./trans., Book Title, vol. number (City of Publication: Publisher, Year).

  • Cicero, Quintus Tullius. “Handbook on Canvassing for the Consulship.” In Rome: Late Republic and Principate, edited by Walter Emil Kaegi Jr. and Peter White. Vol. 2 of University of Chicago Readings in Western Civilization, edited by John Boyer and Julius Kirshner, 33–46. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986. Originally published in Evelyn S. Shuckburgh, trans., The Letters of  Cicero, vol. 1 (London: George Bell & Sons, 1908).
Preface, foreward, or introduction of a book

FIRST NOTE: Author of introduction's first & last names, introduction/preface to Book Title, by author of book's first & last names (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

  • James Rieger, introduction to Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus, by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley (Chicago: University of  Chicago Press, 1982), xx–xxi.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author of introduction's last name, introduction to Shortened Book Title, page numbers.

  • Rieger, introduction to Frankenstein , xxxiii.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author of introduction's last name, first name. Introduction/preface to Book Title, by author of book's first & last names, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

  • Rieger, James. Introduction to Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus, by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, xi–xxxvii. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1982.

E-Book

**If a book is available in more than one format, cite the version you consulted. For books consulted online, list a URL; include an access date only if one is required by your instructor. If no fixed page numbers are available, you can include a section title or a chapter number.

FIRST NOTE: Author first & last names, Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), E-book format OR accessed date, URL.

  • Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classics, 2007), Kindle edition.
  • Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds., The Founders’ Constitution (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987), accessed February 28, 2010, http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, Shortened Book Title, page numbers or chapter number, if applicable.

  • Austen, Pride and Prejudice.
  • Kurland and Lerner, Founder’s Constitution, chap. 10, doc. 19.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author last name, first name. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year. E-book format OR accessed date. URL.

  • Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle edition.
  • Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.