Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Style: Chicago 17th edition

Author-Date Style: Citing Articles

Article
in a print journal

**In the note, list the specific page numbers consulted; in the bibliography, list the page range for the entire article.

NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page number)
  • (Weinstein 2009, 440)
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Date. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume number: page range.
  •  Weinstein, Joshua I. 2009. “The Market in Plato’s Republic.” Classical Philology 104:439–58.
Article
in an online journal

**Include a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) if the journal lists one. If no DOI is available, list a URL. Include an access date only if one is required by your instructor.

NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page number)
  • (Kossinets and Watts 2009, 411)
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Date. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume number: page range. Accessed date. DOI or URL
  • Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. 2009. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115:405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010. doi:10.1086/599247.

Article
in a database

**Include a  DOI, URL, or the name of the database. Use the URL only if the database includes a recommended stable or persistent form; otherwise, include the name of the database and, in parentheses, any identifcation number provided with the source. For items that do not include a publication or revision date, include an access date.  Three examples below.

NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page numbers)
  • (Daley 2002)
  • (Maiben 1980-1981, 533)
  • (Howard 2008, 14)
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Year. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume number (Month Day): page range. DOI or Database Name (Identification number) or permanent URL.
  • Daley, Beth. 2002. "A Tale of a Whale: Scientists, Museum are Eager to Study, Display Rare Creature." Boston Globe, 3rd ed., (June 11). LexisNexis Academic.
  • Maiben, William. 1980-1981. "A Tombeau for John Lennon, 1940-1980." Perspectives of New Music 19, nos. 1/2 (Autumn 1980-Summer 1981). http://www.jstor.org/stable/832614.
  • Howard, David H. 2008. "Hospital Quality and Selective Contracting: Evidence from Kidney Transplantation." Forum for Health Economics and Policy 11, no. 2. PubMed Central (PMC2600561).

Article
in a popular magazine or newspaper

**Newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in running text (“As Sheryl Stolberg noted in a New York Times article on February 27, 2010, . . .”) instead of in a note, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography. The following examples show the more formal versions of the citations. If you consulted the article online, include a URL; include an access date only if your instructor requires one. If no author is identified, begin the citation with the article title. Two examples below.

NOTE: (Author's last name Year, page number)
  • (Mendelsohn 2010, 68)
  • (Stolberg and Pear 2010)
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Year. "Article Title." Magazine or Newspaper Title, Month Day. Accessed date. URL.
  • Mendelsohn, Daniel. 2010. “But Enough about Me.” New Yorker, January 25.
  • Stolberg, Sheryl Gay, and Robert Pear. 2010. “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote.” New York Times, February 27. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.
Book Review

NOTE: (Author's last name Year)

  • (Kamp 2006)

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Year. "Article Title." Review of Book Title, by book author's first & last names. Magazine or Newspaper Title, Month Day, Section. URL, if applicable.

  • Kamp, David. 2006. “Deconstructing Dinner.” Review of The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals, by Michael Pollan. New York Times, April 23, Sunday Book Review. http://www.nytimes.com/2006/04/23/books/review/23kamp.html.