Article
in a print journal |
**In the note, list the specific page numbers consulted; in the bibliography, list the page range for the entire article.
FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume number (Year): page number.
- Joshua I. Weinstein, “The Market in Plato’s Republic,” Classical Philology 104 (2009): 440.
SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, "Article Title," page numbers.
- Weinstein, “Plato’s Republic,” 452–53.
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume number (Year): page range.
- Weinstein, Joshua I. “The Market in Plato’s Republic.” Classical Philology 104 (2009): 439–58.
|
Article
in an online journal |
**Include a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) if the journal lists one. If no DOI is available, list a URL. Include an access date only if one is required by your instructor.
FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume number (Year): page number, accessed date, DOI or URL.
- Gueorgi Kossinets and Duncan J. Watts, “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network,” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 411, accessed February 28, 2010, doi:10.1086/599247.
SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, "Article Title," page number.
- Kossinets and Watts, “Origins of Homophily,” 439.
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume number (Year): page range. Accessed date. DOI or URL.
- Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 405–50. Accessed February 28, 2010. doi:10.1086/599247.
|
|
Article
in a database
|
**Include a DOI, URL, or the name of the database. Use the URL only if the database includes a recommended stable or persistent form; otherwise, include the name of the database and, in parentheses, any identifcation number provided with the source. For items that do not include a publication or revision date, include an access date. Three examples below.
FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume number (Date/Year): page numbers. DOI or Database Name (Identification number) or permanent URL.
- Beth Daley, "A Tale of a Whale: Scientists, Museum are Eager to Study, Display Rare Creature," Boston Globe, 3rd ed., (June 11, 2002). LexisNexis Academic.
- William Maiben, "A Tombeau for John Lennon, 1940-1980," Perspectives of New Music 19, nos. 1/2 (Autumn 1980-Summer 1981): 533. http://www.jstor.org/stable/832614.
- David H. Howard, "Hospital Quality and Selective Contracting: Evidence from Kidney Transplantation," Forum for Health Economics and Policy 11, no. 2 (2008). PubMed Central (PMC2600561).
SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, "Article Title," page numbers.
- Daley, "Tale of a Whale."
- Maiben, "Tombeau for John Lennon," 533.
- Howard, "Hospital Quality," 14.
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume number (Date/Year). DOI or Database Name (Identification number) or permanent URL.
- Daley, Beth. "A Tale of a Whale: Scientists, Museum are Eager to Study, Display Rare Creature." Boston Globe, 3rd ed., (June 11, 2002). LexisNexis Academic.
- Maiben, William. "A Tombeau for John Lennon, 1940-1980." Perspectives of New Music 19, nos. 1/2 (Autumn 1980-Summer 1981). http://www.jstor.org/stable/832614.
- Howard, David H. "Hospital Quality and Selective Contracting: Evidence from Kidney Transplantation." Forum for Health Economics and Policy 11, no. 2 (2008). PubMed Central (PMC2600561).
|
|
Article
in a popular magazine or newspaper
|
**Newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in running text (“As Sheryl Stolberg noted in a New York Times article on February 27, 2010, . . .”) instead of in a note, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography. The following examples show the more formal versions of the citations. If you consulted the article online, include a URL; include an access date only if your instructor requires one. If no author is identified, begin the citation with the article title. Two examples below.
FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, "Article Title," Magazine or Newspaper Title, Date, page number, accessed date, URL, if applicable.
- Daniel Mendelsohn, “But Enough about Me,” New Yorker, January 25, 2010, 68.
- Sheryl Gay Stolberg and Robert Pear, “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote,” New York Times, February 27, 2010, accessed February 28, 2010, http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.
SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, "Article Title," page numbers.
- Mendelsohn, “But Enough about Me,” 69.
- Stolberg and Pear, “Wary Centrists.”
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. "Article Title." Magazine or Newspaper Title, Date. Accessed date. URL, if applicable.
- Mendelsohn, Daniel. “But Enough about Me.” New Yorker, January 25, 2010.
- Stolberg, Sheryl Gay, and Robert Pear. “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote.” New York Times, February 27, 2010. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.
|
| Book Review |
FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, "Article Title," review of Book Title, by book author's first & last names, Magazine or Newspaper Title, Date, Section, URL, if applicable.
- David Kamp, “Deconstructing Dinner,” review of The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals, by Michael Pollan, New York Times, April 23, 2006, Sunday Book Review, http://www.nytimes.com/2006/04/23/books/review/23kamp.html.
SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, "Article Title."
- Kamp, “Deconstructing Dinner.”
BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. "Article Title." Review of Book Title, by book author's first & last names. Magazine or Newspaper Title, Date, Section. URL, if applicable.
- Kamp, David. “Deconstructing Dinner.” Review of The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals, by Michael Pollan. New York Times, April 23, 2006, Sunday Book Review. http://www.nytimes.com/2006/04/23/books/review/23kamp.html.
|
