Skip to Main Content

Online Search Strategies

Accessing the Reynolds Libraries databases

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus. 

  1. From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
  2. When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.

Popular Databases

1. To search our two most popular databases, go to the library's home page at https://reynoldslibraries.org/

2. When the library's homepage appears, move your mouse over Quick Links near the top of the screen.

3. When the Quick Links menu appears, click on Academic Search Complete or Opposing Viewpoints.

Databases A to Z

1. If you are already know the name of the database you want to search, go to the library's home page at https://reynoldslibraries.org/

2, When the library's home page appears, move your mouse over Research near the top of the screen.

3. When the Research menu appears, click on Databases.

 

4. When the next screen appears, click on the letter of the alphabet that the database begins with.

Databases by Subject:

  1. Go to the library's home page at https://reynoldslibraries.org/
  2. When the library's home page appears, move your mouse over Research near the top of the screen.
  3. When the Research menu appears, click on Databases.
  4. When the next screen appears, click on the Filter by Subject/Discipline option.
  5. When the menu appears, select a subject.

General Databases:‚Äč

Start with a comprehensive general database such as Academic Search Complete or MasterFILE Premier.

Course and Subject Guides:

If your instructor or a librarian directed you to a specific course or subject guide from Reynolds Libraries' Research Guides website, try the databases listed in the guide by clicking on the Find Articles tab/page of the guide.

Ask a Librarian:

You also can ask a librarian for recommendations on which databases to search for your particular topic.