PRC Circulating Collection. Algorithms will soon know more about us than we know ourselves. Where should machine automation end? Is it acceptable to have a digital assistant arrange your calendar, but not to have a robot spouse? Are companion robots acceptable for seniors in need of comfort, but not okay for toddlers exposed to emotional software that could influence their behavior? We need to create ethical standards for the Artificial Intelligence usurping our lives, and allow individuals to control their identity based on their values. This book provides the first values-driven approach to algorithmic living--a definitive roadmap to help humanity embrace the present and positively define their future.
DTC Circulating Collection. When most of us think about Artificial Intelligence, our minds go straight to cyborgs, robots, and sci-fi thrillers where machines take over the world. But the truth is that Artificial Intelligence is already among us. It exists in our smartphones, fitness trackers, and refrigerators that tell us when the milk will expire. In Thinking Machines, technology journalist Luke Dormehl takes you through the history of AI and how it makes up the foundations of the machines that think for us today.
DTC Circulating Collection. The future is now. Acclaimed technologist and inventor Amir Husain explains how we can live amidst the coming age of sentient machines and artificial intelligence--and not only survive, but thrive. Husain argues that we are on the cusp of writing our next, and greatest, creation myth. It is the dawn of a new form of intellectual diversity, one that we need to embrace in order to advance the state of the art in many critical fields, including security, resource management, finance, and energy.
DTC Circulating Collection. Zarkadakis traces AI's origins in ancient myth, through literary classics like Frankenstein, to today's sci-fi blockbusters, arguing that a fascination with AI is hardwired into the human psyche. He explains AI's history, technology, and potential; its manifestations in intelligent machines; its connections to neurology and consciousness, as well as--perhaps most tellingly--what AI reveals about us as human beings.In Our Own Image argues that we are on the brink of a fourth industrial revolution--poised to enter the age of Artificial Intelligence as science fiction becomes science fact.
This collection contains some of the most recent books published on artificial intelligence. You will find some of these ebooks in our catalog, but it's also helpful to search the database directly to be sure.