What is MLA?

The MLA Citation Style is often used for classes in the Humanities, such as English and History.
We keep a copy of the MLA Handbook at the Reference Desk.

Related Guides
- Citing SourcesOverview of citation, including plagiarism and the different styles. Includes links to free citation and bibliographic management tools.
- Research at JSRCC - Cite SourcesThree subtabs include: a. Avoid plagiarism b. Interpret citations c. Cite Sources
- Citation Style: APAThe other most popular citation format, APA, has its own guide.
Web Tutorial
Need a little extra help understanding citations? Try these interactive web tutorials:
- APA and MLA Citation Game Home Page
Play this interactive game and learn how to correctly format APA or MLA citations for some of the most commonly used citation types. Created by University of Washington TRIO Training. - MLA Tutorial
Interactive tutorial includes various examples, explanations, and exercises. Hunter College Libraries, CUNY
Important Note
Always check with your instructor on what format specifications to use for a particular class or assignment, especially when citing electronic resources including material found in library databases.
EasyBib: Automatic Bibliography & Citation Maker
JSRCC Libraries have purchased the premium access to EasyBib, a web-based tool for building and managing citations in MLA, APA and Chicago Style.
EasyBib premium access allows you to:
- Create a bibliography quickly using the Autocite or Manual entry forms for over 50 source types.
- Use features such as footnotes and parenthetical formatting, adding annotations, etc.
- Export citations to MS Word or Google Docs. You can also copy & paste or email citations to yourself.
- Import citations from popular third-party databases such as EBSCOhost or JSTOR.
- Use your iPhone to scan and cite sources with the EasyBib iPhone app. You can then email or export the citations.
- Use the Notebook feature to take notes and link notes to sources. Paraphrase, comment and organize your notes.
- Register to create your own personal account so you can access saved citations/notes from anywhere.
**On-campus access: No login required
**Off-campus access: You will need to login with your MyJSRCC username and password.
If you need help on using EasyBib:
- Check out the EasyBib Help site.
- Or you can contact the JSRCC Library Reference Desk for additional information or assistance.
MLA Handouts
You can print these handouts for easy access, if you would like.
- Bibliography - MLA Style
PDF tri-fold handout includes MLA citation examples. - In-Text Parenthetical Citation - MLA Style
PDF tri-fold handout includes MLA in-text parenthetical citation examples. - EasyBib MLA 7 Reference Guide
PDF quick guide for creating citations in MLA - EasyBib MLA 7 Parenthetical Guide Handout
PDF of how to use parenthetical citations - EasyBib MLA 7 Citing Online Sources
PDF quick guide for understanding how to cite online sources - EastBib MLA 7 Understanding Citations

MLA Websites
These are some great websites that show you how to cite different sources.
- Documenting Sources MLA Style
DianaHacker.com - MLA 2009 Formatting & Style Guide
The Owl at Purdue University - good guide with examples - Citing Information - MLA - UNC University Libraries
Includes a sample reference page as well as examples for in-text citations, print sources, and online sources. Click on the view detail link next to each citation example for a detailed explanation on how to interpret individual elements (parts) of the citation.
Sample MLA Papers
If you're not sure how to format your paper according to MLA guidelines, check out these sample papers for example:
- Sample Paper without Cover Page [PDF]
From www.dianahacker.com - Sample Paper with Cover Page [PDF]
From www.dianahacker.com - OWL at Purdue - MLA format basics
Great guide with examples
Changes to MLA 2009
Italics
- Italics is now used everywhere in place of underlining—for titles, for words, etc.
Medium of publication
- Every entry has a medium of publication designation, such as the following: Print, Web, Radio, Television, CD, Audiocassette, Film, Videocassette, DVD, Performance, Lecture, and PDF file.
Example: Wood, James. How Fiction Works. New York: Farrar, 2008. Print.
Issue numbers for journals
- MLA no longer makes a distinction between journals paginated by volume and journals paginated by issue. All entries must have both volume and issue numbers for all journals.
Example: Wood, Michael. “Broken Dates: Fiction and the Century.” Kenyon Review 22.3 (2000): 50-64. Print.
Online sources
- MLA guidelines assume that readers can track down most online sources by entering the author, title, or other identifying information in a search engine or a database. Consequently, MLA does not require a URL in citations for online sources.
- NOTE: Your professor may require you to include the url. Be sure to ask what your professor prefers.
- MLA no longer requires the location of the database (the library name, for instance).
- MLA style requires a sponsor or publisher for most online sources. If a source has no sponsor or publisher, use the abbreviation “N.p.” (for “No publisher”) in the sponsor position.
- If there is no date of publication or update, use “n.d.” (for “no date”) after the sponsor.
- For an article in an online journal or an article from a database, give page numbers if they are available; if they are not, use the abbreviation “n. pag.”
Examples:
Web site
Margaret Sanger Papers Project. History Dept., New York U, 18 Oct. 2000. Web. 9 Feb. 2009.
Article on a Web site (no date)
Shiva, Vandana. “Bioethics: A Third World Issue.” NativeWeb. NativeWeb, n.d. Web. 22 Feb. 2006.
Article from a database
Johnson, Kirk. “The Mountain Lions of Michigan.” Endangered Species Update. 19.2 (2002): 27-31. Expanded Academic Index. Web. 26 Feb. 2009.
In-text citations
- For unpaginated online sources (mostly Web sites), don't use a paragraph or section number (with “par.” or “sec.”) unless the source itself numbers its paragraphs or sections.
Ask A Librarian |
Contact Info: Downtown campus: 804-523-5333 Goochland campus: 804-523-5419 Parham campus: 804-523-5329 Send Email |
Credit
This guide is adapted with permission from the original by Montgomery College.




Loading content... please wait
