Skip to Main Content

Citation Style: MLA 9th Edition

Annotated bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

Write perfect annotations

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, websites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "references" or "works cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation.

Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may include one or more of the following types of writing:

  • Summary: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is. For more help on paraphrasing, check out our Paraphrasing page from the Ace Your Citations guide.
  • Assessment: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source? Discuss some new or surprising things you learned about the specific topic you are researching. How did the source enlighten you on any aspect related to the specific topic your are researching? For more help, see Purdue University's Online Writing Lab webpage, Evaluating Sources.
  • Reflection: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?

    Your annotated bibliography may include some of these, all of these, or even others. If you're doing this for a class, you should get specific guidelines from your instructor.

Information taken from the Annotated Bibliographies created by the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab.

Example Annotation:

Example Annotation - Different parts color coded for summary, evaluation and relevance.

Image taken from Odum Library, Valdosta State University

Annotated Bibliography - MLA 9th Edition Format

Annotated Bibliographies [section 5.132 of MLA Handbook, 9th Edition]

Style a source in an annotated bibliography just as you would one in a list of works cited. Add an annotation under the citation, indented one (1) inch under the citation to distinguish it from the 1/2 inch (.5) hanging indent of the citation (citations usually include more than one line).

Annotations summarize or evaluate sources or do both. They should not rehash minor details, cite evidence, quote the author, or recount steps in an argument. Annotations are generally written as succinct phrases. 

The list should be titled Annotated Bibliography or Annotated List of Works Cited. The annotated bibliography should be arranged alphabetically by author or title, just as you would for a Works Cited list.

If your instructor has different guidelines from those outlined above, follow your instructor's requirements. Image below taken from Taft College Library

Example annotated bibliography - Formatting: Margin - 1 inch; Hanging indent - 1/2 inch; Annotation - 1 inch from the start of the entry.

Other resources: