Skip to Main Content

Citation Style: MLA 9th Edition

Article examples

DOIs, URLs & Permalinks:

  • DOIs (digital object identifier) typically begin with the number 10, and should always be preceded by https://doi.org/ in your works cited entry 
  • URLS do not require http:// or https://, but the protocol may be included if you need it to create a clickable link (or hyperlink)
  • Not all URLs display www; copy the URL as displayed in the address bar
  • If an article provides a permalink (a stable, permanent, or persistent link) use that in your entry instead of the URL in the address bar
  • See pages 194-96 (sections 5.93-5.98) in the MLA Handbook for more on URLs, DOIs and permalinks 
Journal article, in print

Author Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol., no.,year, p. (or pp. for range).

Hernandez-Reguant, Ariana. "Copyrighting Che: Art and Authorship under Cuban Late Socialism." Public Culture, vol. 16. no. 1, 2004, pp. 1-29.

Journal article, from database

Includes DOI

(Digital Object Identifier)

Author Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol., no.,year, p. (or pp. for range). Database Name, DOI.

Note: If a Digital Object Identifier (doi) is available, use that instead of the URL.

Chan, Evans. "Postmodernism and Hong Kong Cinema." Postmodern Culture, vol. 10, no. 3, 2000, pp. 31-43. Project Muse, https://doi:10.1353/pmc.2000.0021.

Journal article, from database

If no DOI, use URL instead

Author Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol., no.,year, p. (or pp. for range). Database Name, permanent/stable URL.

Goldman, Anne. "Questions of Transport: Reading Primo Levi Reading Dante." The Georgia Review, vol. 64, no. 1, 2010, pp. 69-88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41403188.

Journal article, from open web (Google or Google Scholar)

 

When you cite the a journal article found by searching Google or Google Scholar, you should always cite the name of the website where you found the article. Your citation should list the publication details for the article and the name of the website containing the article along with a DOI. If there is no DOI, include the URL.

ARTICLE INCLUDES A DOI:

Author Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol., no.,year, p. (or pp. for range). Website Name, DOI.

Davis III, Charles H., et al. "Social Media, Higher Education, and Community Colleges: A Research Synthesis and Implications for the Study of Two-Year Institutions." Community College Journal of Research and Practice, vol. 39, no. 5, 2019, pp. 409-422, PubMed Central, https://doi:10.1080/10668926.2013.828665..

ARTICLE DOES NOT INCLUDE A DOI - USE URL:

Author Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol., no.,year, p. (or pp. for range). Website Name, permanent/stable URL.

Nguyen, Christine P. "Challenges of Student Engagement in Community Colleges." The Vermont Connection, vol. 32, no. 1, Jan. 2017, pp. 58-67, ScholarWorks. scholarworks.uvm.edu/tvc/vol32/iss1/7/.

Scholarly article reprint, database

If no DOI, use URL instead

Cite the article as a regular article from a database, then add "Originally published in" and the information from the original publication. Note:  Remove the http:// or https:// element of URLs before entering them into the citation.

Bartel, Roland. "Life and Death in Eudora Welty's 'A Worn Path'." Short Story Criticism, edited

by Anna J. Sheets, vol. 27, 1998, pp. 344-45. Literary Criticism Online, ezjsrcc.vccs.edu:

2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=YKOTSV156607946&v=2.1&u=

viva2_jsrcc&it=r&p=LCO&sw=w&asid=3108e32e857b7fca96e5d1637fc7af84.

Originally published in Studies in Short Fiction, vol.14, no. 3, Summer 1977, pp. 288-90.
Magazine article, database

Author Last name, First name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, vol., no. (if indicated), day month year, p. (or pp. for range). Database Name, permanent/stable URL.

Edwards, Haley Sweetland. “Should U.S. Colleges Be Graded by the Government?” Time, vol. 183, no. 16, 28 Apr. 2014, pp. 32–35. Academic Search Complete, ezjsrcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&an=95625819&site=ehost-live.
Newspaper article, database

Author Last name, First name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, day month year, p. (or pp. for range). Database Name, permanent/stable URL.

Koch, James V. “Cost Increases at Public Colleges.” Richmond Times-Dispatch, 7 June 2016, p. 9A. Access World News, ezjsrcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url= http://infoweb.newsbank.com/resources/doc/nb/news/15d5c076f97f8350?p=awnb.
Reference book article, database

Author Last name, First name. "Entry Title." Reference Book Title, edited by editor First name Last name, edition number, volume number, Publisher, Year, page number(s).  Name of the Database, source URL.

Newton, David E. "Science History." The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, edited by K. Lee Lerner,

5th ed., vol. 7, Gale, 2014, pp. 3861-3862. Gale Virtual Reference Library,  ezjsrcc.vccs.edu:2048/ login?

url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX3727802140&v=2.1&u=viva2_jsrcc&it=r&p=

GVRL&sw=w&asid=2c9d5549af95bc6e80d0d500fe06def5.