Research Guides: Evaluating Nutrition Information: Find Articles

Need research help? Ask us!

Contact:

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Find Articles in Library Databases

Why Use the Databases?
Librarians' Top Picks for Databases

Just doing a Google search probably won't be good enough for your research. The articles found through library databases will be more credible and scholarly. The databases will also save you the extra step of making sure your sources are valid.

Identifying Credible Sources of Health Information in Social Media: Principles and Attributes
A discussion paper from the National Academy of Medicine. The NLM Operating under the 1863 Congressional charter of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academies is a private, nonprofit institution that work outside of government to provide objective advice on matters of health.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
Alt-HealthWatch [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Database focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full-text and peer-reviewed articles. (Full text)
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Includes aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health. (Full text)
MEDLINE with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide biomedical literature. Includes broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. (Full-text)
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM.org) is dedicated to bringing physicians the best research and key information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice, and to presenting the information in an understandable and clinically useful format.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. From the National Library of Medicine (NIH).