Research Guides: Surgical Technology: Finding Articles

Need research help? Ask us!

Contact:

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Why use the databases?

Just doing a Google search probably won't be good enough for your research. The articles found through library databases are guaranteed to be scholarly, saving you the extra step of making sure your sources are valid. See our handout [pdf] of Library Databases vs. Google for more information.

Librarians' Top Picks: Surg Tech Specific Databases

CINAHL Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. Searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals. Coverage dates back to 1937. (Full text)
MEDLINE with Full Text [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide biomedical literature. Includes broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. (Full-text)
Alt-HealthWatch [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Database focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full-text and peer-reviewed articles. (Full text)

These full-text databases are meant specifically for those looking up articles about Health, Medicine & Nursing.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Physician's Desk Reference (PDR) This link opens in a new window
PDR.net is the free companion to the Physician's Desk Reference book. It is searchable and contains the concise monographs for listed drugs. (Full text)
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical resource includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug interactions, and a number of medical calculators. To access the full-text articles from on or off campus, you will need to register with UpToDate after logging in using your MyReynolds account. Click on Login / Register link from the initial UpToDate screen. You can choose your own username & password to register.(Full text)

Get the UpToDate App for access anywhere!

Nurses’ Guide to Using UpToDate
A 6 page guide from Wolters Kluwer

If you are unable to re-verify on a Reynolds network, please clear your cache & cookies on your devices as may help eliminate the difficulty that several students are experiencing when trying to re-verify access to UpToDate.

Here are links describing how to clear cache & cookies using Google Chrome & Microsoft Edge:

Google ChromeLinks to an external site.

Microsoft EdgeLinks to an external site.

In addition, you can contact Support for UpToDate at Wolters Kluwer too:

1-888-804-8436
support@uptodate.com

Also Try: Popular General Databases

These databases provide access to full text articles in many areas of study, including Allied Health and Nursing.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general database includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide variety of topics. (Full-text)
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Offers online access to periodical titles in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years. Articles are available in PDF and/or HTML formats. (Full text)

Also Try: Other Databases

You will find these other full-text databases useful.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.(Full text)

Oxford Reference Online Premium
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including titles in Oxford Companions Series. All books are cross-searchable. (Oxford)

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to journal articles & eBooks. Covers a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage:1977-present.

Journals

We have access (both print and electronic) to many Nursing related journals. For a list by subject area, see Serial Solutions.