Research Guides: Copyright Issues: Find & cite images

Need research help? Ask us!

Reynolds Librarians

Contact:

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Find & cite images

Google image search

Google Image Search
To limit your search to photos labelled for "noncommerical reuse," from the Google result list - select the Search Tools option, then select from the "Usage Rights" menu.
Find Images you can use & share
Google Search Help

Searching for free images on the web

Flickr - Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
Life Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Type in your search terms or browse by time period, people, places, events, sports, and culture. Photos can be used for personal non-commercial use only.
MorgueFile
MorgueFile contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site. To acknowledge the artist's accomplishments, we ask that you credit the photographer when possible. Any questions regarding liabilities should be directed to the specific photographer. If you have any questions, first consult the FAQ. If you can't find and answer to your question, contact us.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Stockvault
Stockvault's sole purpose is to collect and archive medium and high resolution photographs that designers and students can share and use for their personal and non-commercial design work.
Wikimedia Commons
Database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Type in your search terms or browse by: topic, location, image type, or copyright status.

Format & example of how to cite an image from the web:

Artist Last name, First & Middle initials. (Date, or n.d.). Name of clip art or stock image [Type of image]. Site. URL

Winn-Boujnida, C. (n.d.). White table lamp on gray end table [Stock photo]. Unsplash. https://unsplash.com/photos/jhDof9B6vPY

AnnaliseArt. (n.d.). Balloons [Clip art]. Pixabay. https://pixabay.com/illustrations/balloons-confetti-celebration-4022896/

Note: Although for most images you must look at the license on a case-by-case basis, images and clip art from programs such as Microsoft Word and Microsoft PowerPoint can be used without attribution.

Artwork References
APA Style
Clip Art or Stock Image References
APA Style
How to Cite an Image in APA Style: Format & Examples
Scribbr
Instagram References
APA Style

Format & example of how to cite an image from the web:

Creator's Last Name, First Name. "Title of the digital image." Title of the website. First name & last name of any contributors, Version (if applicable). Number (if applicable). Publisher, Publication date, URL.

Vasquez, Gary. Photograph of Coach K with Team USA. NBC Olympics, USA Today Sports, 5 Aug. 2016,

www.nbcolympics.com/news/rio-olympics-coach-ks-toughest-test-or-lasting-legacy.

How to Cite an Image in MLA : Format & Examples
Scribbr
Posts related to images
MLA Style Center