Research Guides: HIS-121 &amp; 122: United States History: Find books

Find books

Search Reynolds Libraries catalog for books:

Below is a sampling of print books from our library collections on United States history topics.

The Age of Reconstruction: How Lincoln’s New Birth of Freedom Remade the World
Call Number: D392 .D69 2024

Print copy available to borrow in DTC collection
Digital copy also available through EBSCO eBooks
Being Indian and Walking Proud: American Indian Identity and Reality
Taylor & Francis eBook, 2024
From Trenton to Yorktown: Turning Points of the Revolutionary War
Call Number: E230 .M23 2025

Print copy available to borrow in PRC collection
My Fellow Americans: Presidents and Their Inaugural Addresses
EBSCOhost eBook, 2024.
Thomas Jefferson and the Fight Against Slavery
ProQuest Central eBook, 2024

Reynolds Libraries uses Library of Congress call numbers to organize books by subject area. United States History can be found in the following areas:

E58-E99 - Indians of North America
E101-E179 - North America discovery and exploration
E158-E162 - U.S. History Colonial Period
E179-E382 - Territorial expansion
E179.5 - Manifest Destiny
E185-E185.9 - Civil rights movement
E208 - U.S. Revolutionary War
E441-450 - Slavery United States History
E458-E656 - U.S. Civil War
E668 - Reconstruction
E743 - Progressive era
D521-D723 - World war 1914-1918
D743-D811 - World war 1939-1945
D843; E743-E895 - Cold war
DS79.76 - Iraq war
DS557-DS559 - Vietnam war
E895; HV6432 - War on terrorism
F1-F975 - United States local history
HB3717 - Great depression 1929
HC105 - Industrial era
KF4510-KF4541 - Federalism & Constitution

If you are looking for history pre-Colonial period, try section C, which contains History (Archaeology and Geneology).

Ebook Central [ProQuest]
Ebook Central provides access to a wide variety of multi-disciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and DRM-free chapter downloads (Full text)
eBook Collection [EBSCO]
Provides access to full-text online books in a wide variety of subject areas. (Full text)
Oxford Academic eBooks
Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to academic eBooks in a wide variety of subject areas, with a concentration in the humanities and social sciences. (Full text)
Taylor & Francis eBooks
eBook collection covers a wide variety of disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
Wiley Online Library
Access to journal articles & eBooks. Covers a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage:1977-present.

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.