Skip to Main Content

English as a Second Language

Need research help? Ask us!

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Articles in the library databases - listen & translate tools

Associates Programs Source & other EBSCOhost databases

Listen & translate options for EBSCOhost database are available for articles in HTML format.

  1. When viewing an article in HTML format, click on Listen or Translate from the Tools menu located to the right of the article.
  2. When listening to an article you have the option to select highlighting & reading speed options as well as download & listen to the audio file.‚Äč
  3. When translating an article, select the language you are interested in.

Factiva database

Depending on the publication you view in Factiva, you will have the option to either listen to an article, translate an article, or both.

  1. When viewing a publication, click on Listen to Article or Translate Article options located above the article.
  2. When listening to an article you have the option to download & listen to the audio file.
  3. When translating an article, select the language you are interested in.

 

Literature Resource Center database

When viewing any article in the Literature Resource Center database, you have the option to translate articles as well as listen to an article in the translated language you specified.

  1. To translate an article, select the Translate Article option from the Tools menu located to the right of the article.
  2. To listen to an article, click on the Listen option located above the article. When listening to an article you have the option to select highlighting & reading speed options as well as download & listen to the audio file.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context database

When viewing any article in the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database, you have the option to translate articles as well as listen to an article in the translated language you specified.

  1. To translate an article, select the Translate option from the Tools menu located to the right of the article.
  2. To listen to an article, click on the Listen option located above the article. When listening to an article you have the option to select highlighting & reading speed options as well as download & listen to the audio file.

Short stories & news stories on the open Web