Horticulture

Search for trees and shrubs using one or more search categories.

American Horticultural Society brings you a choice of hardiness zone maps.

Information on crop plants of all kinds- new, traditional, and unusual, from Purdue University.

Virginia Agricultural Experiment Station home page with links to all Experiment Station locations and publications; from Virginia Tech.

From the National Agricultural Statistics Service of the USDA. Includes county estimates, Virginia Fact Sheets, Virginia Publications, and Census of Agriculture for Virginia.

Virginia Cooperative Extension Service home page with links to all extension offices, programs, and publications; from Virginia Tech and Virginia State University.

"Its purpose is to further appreciation and conservation of Virginia's native plants and habitats." (VNPS)

"The Mission of the American Community Gardening Association is to build community by increasing and enhancing community gardening and greening across the United States and Canada." (ACGA)

One of the oldest and most prominent national gardening organizations in the U.S.

Professional association for people working in botanical gardens and arboreta.

Society for specialty crops.

"Promotes research and teaching of taxonomy, systematics, and phylogeny of vascular and nonvascular plants." (ASPT)

"Main area of expertise is in supporting professional botanists and their students." (BSA)

"Focuses on educating its members and the public on the cultivation of herbs and the study of their history and uses, both past and present." (HSA)

"Offers the Web's largest and most respected array of gardening content for consumers and educators, ranging from general information and publications to lessons and grants." (NGA)

Leading horticultural organization in the United Kingdom.

"A nonprofit scientific and educational organization ... that serves as an advocate for conservation professionals and for science-based conservation practice, programs, and policy." (SWCS)

Provides "open access to a large corpus of historical materials on biodiversity within the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. BHL has grown into an international collaborative digitization project by working with 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries and research institutions in the United States and United Kingdom." Source: BHL

" . . . a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. " ~ CHLA, Cornell University

" . . . contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries." Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library

Includes over 300 historical images on gardening and horticulture, Virginia Tech University Libraries

Includes photos and line drawings of mainly U.S. plants; includes some cultivated and foreign plants. Search by scientific or common name; many interesting search limiters include: by artist, or by state. National Resources Conservation Service, USDA.

7,584 watercolor paintings, lithographs and line drawings created by approximately 21 artists from 1886 to 1942 & commissioned by the USDA.