What is APA?

The APA Citation Style is often used for classes in the sciences and health fields.
We keep a copy of the APA Publication Manual at the Reference Desk.

Web Tutorials
Need a little extra help understanding citations? Try these interactive web tutorials:
- APA and MLA Citation Game Home Page
Play this interactive game and learn how to correctly format APA or MLA citations for some of the most commonly used citation types. Created by University of Washington TRIO Training. - APA 6th edition - Videos - How Do I Cite?
Tutorial video clips on how to cite various resources. Alvin Shermin Library, Research, and Information Technology Center, NOVA Southeastern University.
For Additional Help:
Related Guides
- Citing SourcesOverview of citation, including plagiarism and the different styles. Includes links to free citation and bibliographic management tools.
- Research at JSRCC - Cite SourcesThree subtabs include: a. Avoid plagiarism b. Interpret citations c. Cite Sources
- Citation Style: MLA
Important Note
Always check with your instructor on what format specifications to use for a particular class or assignment, especially when citing electronic resources including material found in library databases.
EasyBib: Automatic Bibliography & Citation Maker
JSRCC Libraries have purchased the premium access to EasyBib, a web-based tool for building and managing citations in MLA, APA and Chicago Style.
EasyBib premium access allows you to:
- Create a bibliography quickly using the Autocite or Manual entry forms for over 50 source types.
- Use features such as footnotes and parenthetical formatting, adding annotations, etc.
- Export citations to MS Word or Google Docs. You can also copy & paste or email citations to yourself.
- Import citations from popular third-party databases such as EBSCOhost or JSTOR.
- Use your iPhone to scan and cite sources with the EasyBib iPhone app. You can then email or export the citations.
- Use the Notebook feature to take notes and link notes to sources. Paraphrase, comment and organize your notes.
- Register to create your own personal account so you can access saved citations/notes from anywhere.
**On-campus access: No login required
**Off-campus access: You will need to login with your MyJSRCC username and password.
If you need help on using EasyBib:
- Check out the EasyBib Help site.
- Or you can contact the JSRCC Library Reference Desk for additional information or assistance.
APA Handouts
You can print these handouts for easy access, if you would like.
- Bibliography - APA Style
PDF tri-fold handout includes APA citation examples. - In-Text Parenthetical Citation - APA Style
PDF tri-fold handout includes APA in-text parenthetical citation examples. - EasyBib APA 6 Reference Guide
PDF quick guide for creating citations in APA - EasyBib APA 6 Understanding Citations
PDF quick guide for understanding citations in APA - EasyBib APA 6 Citing Online Sources
PDF quick guide for citing online sources in APA - EasyBib APA 6 Parenthetical Citations - Detailed
PDF - Detailed reference guide explaining parenthetical citations in APA - EasyBib APA 6 Parenthetical Citation Examples
PDF quick guide for parenthetical citations
Guidelines & Sample References
- Diana Hacker Guide to APA
Follow navigation on left for in-text citations, list of references, and manuscript format. - The Owl at Purdue University APA Guide
Use navigation at bottom of the page to go through different types of resource formatting as well as in-text citation. - Citing Information - APA - UNC University Libraries
Includes a sample reference page as well as examples for in-text citations, print sources, and online sources. Click on the view detail link next to each citation example for a detailed explanation on how to interpret individual elements (parts) of the citation.
Sample APA Papers
- APA Sample Paper
From Conestoga College, Ontario, Canada - APA Style - Sample Papers
American Psychological Association - Diana Hacker APA Example Paper

- Owl at Purdue Example APA Paper [PDF]
With explanations of different parts
Changes in the 6th Edition
For a full list of changes, see http://www.apastyle.org/manual/whats-new.aspx
Major Changes (from University of Canterbury's blog):
- If available, use the DOI for online journals.
- If no DOI use the home page URL for the journal rather than the database name. The manual advises that this may necessitate a "quick web search to locate this URL."
- Retrieval dates are no longer necessary for websites unless the material may change over time (e.g. Wikis).
- When working on the References list at the end of your paper, if there are eight or more authors listed for any resource, include the first six authors' names, then insert three dots and add the last author's name. The following is an example:
Yoon, P. W., Chen, B., Faucett, A., Clyne, M., Gwinn, M., Lubin, I. M., . . .
Muin, J. (2001) Public health impact of genetic tests at the end of the
20th century. Genetics in Medicine, 3, 405-410.
Ask A Librarian |
Contact Info: Downtown campus: 804-523-5333 Goochland campus: 804-523-5419 Parham campus: 804-523-5329 Send Email |
Credit
This guide is adapted with permission from the original by Montgomery College.




Loading content... please wait
