Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Style: APA 7th edition

Article examples

Journal, magazine or newspaper article

Includes DOI

(Digital Object Identifier)

Author Last Name, First & Middle initials. (Year). Article title. Journal Title, volume #(issue #), page # range. https://doi.org/.........

McCauley, S.M., & Christiansen, M.H. (2019). Language learning as language use: A cross-linguistic model of child language development. Psychological Review, 126(1), 1-51. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126

Bergeson, S. (2019, January 4). Really cool neutral plasmas. Science, 363(6422), 33-34. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aau7988

Journal, magazine or newspaper article

No DOI

From database or in print

Author Last Name, First & Middle initials. (Date). Article title. Periodical Title, volume #(issue #), page # range.

Anderson, M. (2018). Getting consistent with consequences. Educational Leadership, 76(1), 26-33.

Goldman, C. (2018, November 28). The complicated calibration of love, especially in adoption. Chicago Tribune.

Hess, A. (2019). Cats who take direction. The New York Times, C1.

Weir, K. (2017, January). Forgiveness can improve mental and physical health. Monitor on Psychology, 48(1), 30.

Notes:

  • Journal, magazine and newspaper articles without a DOI # and from a database should be treated as print works. Do not list the database name or the URL. Only include database information in the reference if the source comes from a database that publishes original, proprietary content such as UpToDate. For a detailed explanation, click here.
  • For newspapers or magazines, the date field includes the month and the day if available.
  • For newspapers, include the section # if given.

Journal, magazine or newspaper article

No DOI

From open web

Author Last Name, First & Middle initials. (Date). Article title. Periodical title, volume #(issue #), page # range. URL

Ahmnann, E., Tuttle, L.J., Saviet, M., & Wright, S.D. (2018). A descriptive review of ADHD coaching research: Implications for college students. Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, 31(1), 17-39. https://www.ahead.org/professional-resources/publications/jped/archived-jped/jped-volume-31

Bustillos, M. (2013, March 19). On video games and storytelling: An interview with Tom Bissell. The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/books/page-turner/on-video-games-and-storytelling-an-interview-with-tom-bissell

Guarino, B. (2017, December 4). How will humanity react to alien life? Psychologists have some predictions. The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/speaking-of-science/wp/2017/12/04/how-will-humanity-react-to-alien-life-psychologists-have-some-predictions

Notes:

  • For newspapers or magazines, the date field includes the month and the day if available.
  • For newspapers, include the section # if given.

Journal article 

up to 20 authors,

21 or more authors

For a work with up to 20 authors, include all of the names in the reference. When the work has 21 or more authors, include only the first 19 names, an ellipsis, and the final name. Example below is for a journal article with more than 20 authors.

Wiskunde, B., Arslan, M., Fischer, P., Nowak, L., Van den Berg, O., Coetzee, L., Juárez, U., Riyaziyyat, E., Wang, C., Zhang, I., Li, P., Yang, R., Kumar, B., Xu, A., Martinez, R., McIntosh, V., Ibáñez, L. M., Mäkinen, G., Virtanen, E., . . . Kovács, A. (2019). Indie pop rocks mathematics: Twenty One Pilots, Nicolas Bourbaki, and the empty set. Journal of Improbable Mathematics27(1), 1935–1968. https://doi.org/10.0000/3mp7y-537

For a detailed explanation, click here. Also see this guideline in the fifth and sixth bullets in Section 9.8 of the Publication Manual and Example 4 in Chapter 10.

Blog post

Author Last Name, First & Middle initials. (Date). Article title. Blog Title. URL

Klymkowsky, M. (2018, September 15). Can we talk scientifically about free will? Sci-Ed. https://blogs.plos.org/scied/2018/09/15/can-we-tal-scientifically-about-free-will/