Research Guides: HIS-102: History of Western Civilization II : Mid-17th Century to the Present: Find books

Need research help? Ask me!

Denise Woetzel

Email Me

Subjects: Education, English & Literature, Health Sciences, History, Information Literacy, Psychology, Sociology

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Find books

Below is a sampling of recently published books from Reynolds Libraries collections.

20th Century Britain: Economic, Cultural and Social Change
Taylor & Francis eBook, 2022.
French Revolution: The Basics
Taylor & Francis eBook, 2021.
From the Ukraine to Ukraine: A Contemporary History
Call Number: DK508.846 .F76 2021
DTC Circulating Collection
Socialism Goes Global: The Soviet Union and Eastern Europe in the Age of Decolonisation
Oxford Academic eBook, 2022.
Uncontrollable Women: Radicals, Reformers and Revolutionaries
Call Number: HQ1236.5.E85 S676 2022
PRC Circulating Collection.

When using the library's catalog or eBook databases to search for books, try some of these subject terms:

By time period:

enlightenment, civilization western history, modern 18th century history, modern 19th century history, modern 20th century history, modern 21st century history

By political/social movement or cultural event:

capitalism, communism, feminism, imperialism, industrial revolution, liberalism, modernism, nationalism, prohibition, socialism, totalitarianism, utilitarianism

By specific wars:

american revolution, french revolution, napoleonic wars, soviet union revolution, spain civil war, world War 1914-1918, world war 1939-1945

Search Reynolds Libraries catalog for books:

Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides access to a wide variety of multi-disciplinary ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and DRM-free chapter downloads (Full text)
eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text online books in a wide variety of subject areas. (Full text)
Oxford Academic eBooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to academic eBooks in a wide variety of subject areas, with a concentration in the humanities and social sciences. (Full text)
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBook collection covers a wide variety of disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to journal articles & eBooks. Covers a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage:1977-present.

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.

Reynolds Library uses Library of Congress Classification to arrange books on the shelves.

Many books on Western civilization or World History can be found in sections - C, D, E & F

If we don't have a book at Reynolds, you can search WorldCat to find books in area libraries:

Research Log Worksheet