Research Guides: American Sign Language: Find Articles

Reference Librarian

Lynn Riggs

EMAIL:
library@reynolds.edu

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Find Articles

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both scholarly journals and books covering literature, history and the social sciences. Database currently includes over 700 journals from 125 publishers and 70,000 books from more than 140 presses. (Full-text)
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database containing journal, magazine and newspaper articles. (Full text)
Education Research Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Indexing, abstracts, full-text articles, books and monographs and numerous conference papers are included. (Full text)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal articles, books and images in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Journal articles published within the last 3-5 years are not included. You can filter your searches to primary source content. (Full text)
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive general database includes journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide variety of topics. (Full-text)

Index to Deaf Periodicals
IMPORTANT NOTE: This database is not current. It was last updated in April 2007, and there is no plan to update it again. It was intended to provide subject access to heavily-used Deaf journals in the Gallaudet University Library collections that are not indexed elsewhere.

The Index to Deaf Periodicals is an index to articles in selected deaf-related journals. The journals indexed and coverage are:
•American Annals of the Deaf and Dumb (v.1-38, 1847-1893) A Note on Numbering and Dating
•Deaf American (v.26-39, 1973-1989) Notes on Numbering, Dating, and Variant Titles
•Deaf American Monographs (v.40-48, 1990-1998)
•Deaf Life (v.1-11, 1987-1998, 2002) Notes on Numbering and Dating
•DeafNation (v.1-3, 1995-1998) Notes on Numbering and Dating
•Silent Worker (v.1-14, 1948-1962) Notes on Numbering and Dating

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.