Skip to Main Content

Literature

Finding biographical information on a specific author.

Top Pick!

1. Go to the Advanced Search screen.

2. Enter the title of the work in the Name Of Work search field.

3. Enter the author's last name, first name in the Person-By or About field.

4. When the results screen appears, review the results under Literature Criticism, Biographies, and Topic & Work Overviews.

Other databases to try:

If you select the EBSCOhost Choose Databases menu, you have the option to search several databases at the same time including: Academic Search Complete, Humanities International Complete, MasterFILE Premier and MLA International Bibliography with Full Text.

EBSCOhost databases:

To find articles that critique several works by a specific author:

  1. Enter the author's last name, first name in the 1st search box.
  2. Enter the term, criticism in the 2nd search box.

To find articles that critique a specific work:

  1. Enter the author's last name, first name in the 1st search box.
  2. Enter the title of the work in the 2nd search box.

To find articles on an author's life:

  1. Enter the author's last name, first name in the 1st search box.
  2. Enter the term, biography in the 2nd search box.

To find articles that critique a specific author's works or to find articles on an author's life:

  1. Go to the JSTOR Advanced Search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box.
  3. From the Item Type menu, checkmark articles.
  4. From the Narrow by Discipline and/or Journal menu, checkmark Language & Literature.

To find articles that critique a specific work:

  1. Go to the JSTOR Advanced Search screen.
  2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box.
  3. Type the title of the work in the 2nd search box.
  4. From the Item Type menu, checkmark articles.
  5. From the Narrow by Discipline and/or Journal menu, checkmark Language & Literature.

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus. 

  1. From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
  2. When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.