Research Guides: Fake News: Separating Fact From Fiction: Library news databases

Need research help? Ask me!

Email Me

Subjects: Education, English & Literature, Health Sciences, History, Information Literacy, Psychology, Sociology

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

Library News Databases

Use the Reynolds Libraries' news databases to find news from reputable sources. Even typically reliable news sources, whether mainstream or alternative, corporate or nonprofit, rely on particular media frames to select and report news stories based on different notions of newsworthiness. The best thing to do in our contemporary media environment is to read, watch and listen both widely and often, and to be critical of the news sources we share and engage with on social media.

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Access World News features thousands of U.S. and global news sources. Includes political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, social sciences and more. (Full text)
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business focused database offers full text access to magazines, journals, leading local, national and international newspapers and news wires. Also provides in-depth research on a company, industry or marketplace. Maximum number of simultaneous users is 70. (Full text)
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Access to major international and national and regional newspapers including television and radio news transcripts. (Full-text)

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.