Collection of open textbooks that are in use in classrooms across the country. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) is a member of the Open Textbook Network. Sponsored by the Center for Open Education (College of Education and Human Development, University of Minnesota) and the Open Textbook Network.
This portal is part of a wide-scale Open & Affordable Initiative by the Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) to provide no-cost & barrier-free access to course curriculum resources for students & researchers. Contains over 200,000 titles from VIVA's shared library collections, open access textbooks, & eBooks available to purchase on behalf of public colleges & universities throughout the state. Important note: This portal link is accessible via Reynolds Intranet & is available only to faculty members at public institutions within the state of Virginia.
Bookboon's free online textbooks for students are focused and to the point. They are all written by highly respected professors from top universities in the world and cover topics such as economics, statistics, IT, engineering and natural science.
One of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.
Hosted by the Government of Canada, The Commonwealth of Learning (COL) is the world’s only intergovernmental organization solely concerned with the promotion and development of distance education and open learning. COL helps developing Commonwealth countries increase their access to learning using distance education and appropriate technologies. Some course materials are available.
CCCOER is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources. Find open and free textbooks, archived information from the active listserv, webinars, case studies, and more.
Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague that indexes open access books.
Access to more than 250 free and openly-licensed educational resources. eCampusOntario has sought to continually improve the library to meet the needs of Ontario’s post-secondary educators and learners.
This is a college textbook publisher whose books are published under an open license. This allows professors to customize the books they order – edit, add to, mix-up – or use as-is. Students can access the books online for free or can pay for print-on-demand and audiobook versions.
The Free Curricula Centre (FCC) helps students worldwide reach their educational potential by developing and promoting open educational resources: university-level curricula that can be copied freely and modified cooperatively.
The HathiTrust Digital Library contains over seven million volumes and over one billion pages of scanned books and other materials. About 20 percent of all content is in the public domain. You can also browse several public collections. Content is available in simage formats, text, and PDF. 1200s-present.
Serving the international academic community since 1999, iBerry is a non-profit making website connecting to information and resources for learners, educators, researchers and anyone else with an interest in Higher Education.
More than 2,000 Open Access ebooks covering a wide variety of disciplines are available at no cost to the public. Users don’t need to register or log in, and there are no DRM restrictions or limits on chapter PDF downloads or printing.
Most books published by the National Academies Press can be downloaded for free in PDF format. Just find the book you want, bypass the print price, and click the “Download Free PDF” button. This site requires that you provide a name and e-mail address. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Provides a single point of access to the highest quality content from around the world. Users can search across vetted and fully-indexed OER, ensuring a high level of resource relevancy and discovery. Since these resources are 'open,' they are available for educational use, and many hold Creative Commons licenses that allow them to be repurposed, modified and adapted for a diverse array of local contexts.
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less).
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
OpenStax College is a nonprofit organization based at Rice University and is committed to improving student access to quality learning materials. Their free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable, accurate, and meet the scope and sequence requirements of your course.
The diverse collections available for searching contain a wide range of resources, including open textbooks. Resources are free for educational use but may be protected through various copyright statements associated with each resource.
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related technologies today.
Springer Link Open Access books are published under the Creative Commons Non-Commercial (CC BY-NC) license, so they can be reused and redistributed for non-commercial purposes as long as the original author is attributed.
Established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative published high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
A Wikimedia community for creating a free library of educational books that anyone can edit. Rather than be subject to expensive static books, Wikibooks readily encourages copying, modifying, reusing, and free distribution of its books.
A community for the creation and use of free learning materials and activities. Wikiversity is a multidimensional social organization dedicated to learning, teaching, research and service. Available in Dutch, French, Spanish, and English.
The Worldwide Center of Mathematics has a mission of making mathematics more accessible by using technology to keep costs low and quality high. They publish both open (free) and affordable textbooks and resources.
Collection of Open Education Resources (OER) adopted, adapted, and/or created by faculty and higher education professionals at Virginia institutions. You can also join VIVA Open's network of educators committed to open education.
Bielefeld University Library, Germany. Produced by librarians, this search engine is a much more academic version of Google Scholar. Use the Advance Search option to search by specific document type, creative commons license, and open access content.
The Mason OER Metafinder searches seventeen targets in real-time, instantly returning the top several hundred or so most relevant hits from each site. Because it is a real-time search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed, curated content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target. Additional results will continue to trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results. Our Metafinder is the perfect first-stop in your search across the universe of OER content.
OpenStax CNX is a dynamic non-profit digital ecosystem serving millions of users per month in the delivery of educational content to improve learning outcomes. There are tens of thousands of learning objects called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.