Open Educational Resources (OER): Getting Started

Collection of open textbooks that are in use in classrooms across the country. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) is a member of the Open Textbook Network. Sponsored by the Center for Open Education (College of Education and Human Development, University of Minnesota) and the Open Textbook Network.

This portal is part of a wide-scale Open & Affordable Initiative by the Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) to provide no-cost & barrier-free access to course curriculum resources for students & researchers. Contains over 200,000 titles from VIVA's shared library collections, open access textbooks, & eBooks available to purchase on behalf of public colleges & universities throughout the state. Important note: This portal link is accessible via Reynolds Intranet & is available only to faculty members at public institutions within the state of Virginia.

A portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use.

Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague that indexes open access books.

Lists computer science and programming books which are made freely & legally available on the Internet.

The HathiTrust Digital Library contains over seven million volumes and over one billion pages of scanned books and other materials. About 20 percent of all content is in the public domain. You can also browse several public collections. Content is available in simage formats, text, and PDF. 1200s-present.

Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

Provides a single point of access to the highest quality content from around the world. Users can search across vetted and fully-indexed OER, ensuring a high level of resource relevancy and discovery. Since these resources are 'open,' they are available for educational use, and many hold Creative Commons licenses that allow them to be repurposed, modified and adapted for a diverse array of local contexts.

The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less).

OpenStax College is a nonprofit organization based at Rice University and is committed to improving student access to quality learning materials. Their free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable, accurate, and meet the scope and sequence requirements of your course.

Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related technologies today.

Nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses and textbooks to all who want to learn.

Springer Link Open Access books are published under the Creative Commons Non-Commercial (CC BY-NC) license, so they can be reused and redistributed for non-commercial purposes as long as the original author is attributed.

A Wikimedia community for creating a free library of educational books that anyone can edit. Rather than be subject to expensive static books, Wikibooks readily encourages copying, modifying, reusing, and free distribution of its books.