Open Educational Resources (OER): Getting Started

Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Type in your search terms or browse by time period, people, places, events, sports, and culture. Photos can be used for personal non-commercial use only.

The Metropolitan Museum’s Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC) initiative provides access to images of art in its collection that the Museum believes to be in the public domain and free of other known restrictions; these images are now available for scholarly use in any media. Works that are covered by the new policy are identified on the Museum’s website with the acronym OASC.

MorgueFile contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site. To acknowledge the artist's accomplishments, we ask that you credit the photographer when possible. Any questions regarding liabilities should be directed to the specific photographer. If you have any questions, first consult the FAQ. If you can't find and answer to your question, contact us.

Over 50,000 from the National Gallery of Art from the public domain are available for download free of charge for any use, whether commercial or non-commercial.

Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

This search portal offers an open source project where you can browse through over 600 million items to reuse. Formerly Creative Commons Search (CC Search) it has now joined wordpress.org.

Free stock photos & videos shared by talented creators.

Over 1,000,000+ images released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0. You may download, modify, distribute, and use them royalty free for anything you like, even in commercial applications. Attribution is not required.

Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. There is access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from their collections. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Stockvault's sole purpose is to collect and archive medium and high resolution photographs that designers and students can share and use for their personal and non-commercial design work.

Over 1 million free high-resolution images brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.

Database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Type in your search terms or browse by: topic, location, image type, or copyright status.

A large archive of medical images of cancer accessible for public download from the Frederic National Laboratory for Cancer Research (FNLCR).

This image collection contains photographs, illustrations, and multimedia files. There is both a general and an advanced search feature.

The National Cancer Institute provides an extensive image collection. You can browse, search, and temporarily save images. It includes many anatomical images not related specifically to cancer.

A small image collection; images are sorted by treatment, category, and whole medical systems.

The NHGRI Image Gallery provides imagery related to the genomics research, people, and programs of the institute.