Research Guides: Foreign Languages: Find & translate articles in a specific language

Need research help? Ask us!

Contact:

CALL:
Downtown: 804.523.5211
Parham: 804.523.5220
Goochland: 804.523.5419

EBSCOhost databases

EBSCO - Search ALL databases This link opens in a new window
Use EBSCOhost's main menu to search a wide variety of databases simultaneously. (Full text)

When viewing articles in HTML format in the EBSCOhost databases, you can select the option to translate the article in a specific language.

1. When viewing an full article in HTML format, select Translate from the Tools menu on the right.

2. Next, select a language from the Choose Language menu, then click on the Translate button.

Factiva

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business focused database offers full text access to magazines, journals, leading local, national and international newspapers and news wires. Also provides in-depth research on a company, industry or marketplace. Maximum number of simultaneous users is 70. (Full text)

Many (not all) articles in Factiva have a Translate Article option.

1. From the result list, click on an article title to see if it has the Translate Article option appearing above the article title. Click on Translate Article.

2. When the next screen appears, select a specific language from the Select Language menu.

Gale databases

Gale Product Menu This link opens in a new window
Use Gale's main menu to choose from a wide variety of databases. (Full text)

Many (not all) Gale databases have a Translation tool.

1. From the result list, click on an article title you are interested in.

2. When the full article appears, click on the Translate option located to the left and under the article title.

3. When the Translate Article menu, appears, select a language.

4. When the preview screen appears, click on the Complete translation button.

ProQuest databases

ProQuest - Search all databases This link opens in a new window
Searches several Proquest databases including Ebook Central, GeoRef, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)‎, Literature Online, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global‎, SciTech Premium Collection‎, and Sports Medicine & Education Index‎.‎

Many (not all) ProQuest databases have a Translation too. When viewing articles in HTML format in the ProQuest databases, you can select the option to translate the article in a specific language.

1. From the result list, select a Full Text article in HTML format (not PDF format).

2. When the full article appears, click on the Translate option located below the article title.

3. When the Select Language menu appears, select English from the From menu and select a specific language from the To menu. Then click on the Translate button.

Off-Campus Access

If you click on any Reynolds Libraries database link (including direct links to specific articles, eBooks and videos) from off-campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. Use your My Reynolds username & multifactor authentication (MFA) to access any of the library databases from off-campus.

From the Virginia's Community Colleges login screen, enter your username then click on the Go button.
When prompted, enter your Authorizing PIN number on your mobile phone.

For more detailed information on accessing resources from Reynolds Libraries databases from off-campus, click here.

If you cannot login from off campus, email library@reynolds.edu or call 804.523.5211 - or - 523-5220.

ProQuest Central eBooks Note: If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from ON or OFF campus, you will be prompted with a Virginia's Community Colleges login screen. If you are accessing a ProQuest Central eBook from the library catalog, you will also be prompted to select your institution, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.